The library would like to understand how our students are using, or plan to use, AI chatbots in research for their assignments, so we've created this survey to hear from you.
AI chatbots such as ChatGPT, Copilot, Perplexity and others can help students at various stages of the research process, within guidelines set by their instructors and KPU's own policy on Academic Integrity.
This survey will enable the library to better meet the needs of those students using, or planning on using, AI chatbots for their academic work.
Please use the QR code below or this link: https://kpu.libwizard.com/f/AI_library_research_survey
Questions about the survey? Please contact Celia Brinkerhoff or Caja Blomley.
Your instructor has given you examples of health infographics. Here are a couple more sources to look at for inspiration. Click on the images below to see examples from the Public Health Agency of Canada and American Public Health Association.
 |
 |
The following are a few of the many infographic creation tools. Most are free for the first several infographics.
This comparison may be helpful for choosing the tool that works best for you.
You also have access to the PowerPoint Infographic templates through KPU's licensed Microsoft Office suite.
The following are sources for free images that you can use in your projects. Always make sure you can verify the terms of use (copyright) before using. It is good practice to credit the source of your images, regardless of whether they were freely available on the web. Attribution is always nice!
For more details on how you can use images in your presentations, see the Images page of the Library's Copyright Guide.
Consider putting a Creative Commons License on your finished product so that others are permitted to use it. You determine the level of restrictions: leave it completely open, ask for some attribution (credit), or allow others to adapt, modify, and reuse.
See Creative Commons for full details on various licenses, and the benefits of applying one to your work.
An annotated bibliography is a list of sources you will be using in your presentation. It will include an APA-style reference for each source, arranged alphabetically according to the authors' names, as you would normally do for a reference list.
However, below each entry you will also include a paragraph telling your reader something about the article and how it relates to your own research topic. Working through an annotated bibliography is usually done as part of the researching and writing of a larger project; it's also good practice in reading scientific articles and learning to summarize and evaluate them in terms of your own research. Learning how to critically read scientific information and integrating it with your own writing is a crucial skill for communicating in the sciences.
See the example below of an annotation of an article from American Journal of Public Health.
Annotated Bibliography Entry in APA (7th ed.)
The above example is from: Graves, R. (n.d.). Nursing 494 Annotated Bibliography Scholarly Paper, [PDF]. https://sites.ualberta.ca/~graves1/documents/Nursing494.pdf
Guidelines vary on how long your annotations should be, but in general 3-5 well-organized sentences should be enough to convey the most important information. You will probably write something in the range of 150-200 words.
But what should be included?
At a minimum, your notes should provide:
Tip: Check with your instructor for more specific instructions on formatting and content of annotations.
Here's a quick video that will outline the major points to consider when writing an annotated bibliography.
Still have some questions about how to write an annotated bibliography? The following links should help you find your answers.
Scholarly nursing and allied health articles.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Current scholarly articles from many areas of science and ebooks published from 2017-2021.
Google Scholar
If you are using Google Scholar to locate articles, be sure to adjust your settings so you will see full text links available through KPU. Here's how:
In the settings menu, choose library links and then enter Kwantlen Polytechnic University.
Now your results list will look like this:
Refer to the Library's APA citation style guide for examples of properly formatted references. The links below will take you directly to the page providing details for each type of source.
You will also need to note data sources for any figures, graphs, etc. that you include in your infographic. Whether you create the figures using data from another source, or you incorporate a figure from somewhere else, you still need to let your readers know where the information came from.
See the Tables, figures and images tab on the library's APA guide for details.
The following online guides provide some tips for including information about your sources on your infographic. While APA does not explicitly say how to do this, make sure you clearly acknowledge where you are getting your data from. This will lend more credibility to your work, and allow your readers to follow up.
APA does not provide clear guidance on how to cite statistical sources. If you are using data found in a report or journal article, you will cite that source. However, if you are using data directly from a collecting agency such as Statistics Canada or BC Stats, you will need to include all the information necessary to guide your reader to your source.
Statistics Canada has a page outlining how it would like users to cite its products.
See How to Cite Statistics Canada Products for full details.
Here is an example of citing data found in one of its tables:
Vancouver Style, which is based on the National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation, is widely used in the biomedical fields and by many journals, and differs from APA in a few key ways.
Unlike APA, in-text citations are indicated either with a superscript number or a number in parentheses following the source. Typically the author's name and date are not used. The sources on the accompanying reference list are then arranged numerically according to when they are used in the text. If a source is used again later on, it will retain the original number assigned the first time it was cited.
Another key difference is that names of journals are abbreviated. You will need to check for the official abbreviation using one of the following tools:
For complete details on how to format references, please see VIU Library's guide on Vancouver Style or BCIT Library's Vancouver Style.
Zotero is a free browser tool that keeps track of your articles and webpages, and creates citations in several formats. Sign up for a free account, and your personal library will be accessible from any computer with an internet connection.
It is useful for capturing a diverse range of source types, and works with most library catologues, databases, and websites.
For help learning how to use Zotero, please visit the library's Zotero guide.
Mendeley is also a free reference manager that stores and organizes your articles, export citations, and more. It is primarily best for working with PDFs.
KPU Library does not support Mendeley; if you need details on setting up and adding references using this tool, please see UBC Library's Citation Management Guide.