Skip to main content

Horticulture

Resources for your research in horticutlure

Overview

This page provides a summary of the Library resources and research tools we explored in the HORT 1155 library orientation. I will keep it up for you for the remainder of the semester. Check back from time to time for updated content. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions, or if you'd like me to include additional links you found helpful.

Celia Brinkerhoff, Hortliculture Librarian

Celia.Brinkerhoff@kpu.ca

Start your research here

Try one of our many plant encyclopedias or handbooks. The following print books are either located in the Reference or General collection of the Langley campus Library. Use the links below for more information about the titles.


Or, start with one of the following online resources:

Search Most of the Library's Collections at Once

Summon is the large search box on the Library's homepage.

Searching here will bring up material from most of our databases and library catalogue.

So your search results will not only include books, but also:

  • videos
  • journal articles
  • newspaper articles
  • other kinds of reports and web resources

Because the results are pulled from so many sources, your search will likely bring up thousands of matches.

Be sure to use the filters on the left of the screen to focus and narrow your search.

If you are only looking for articles, you will probably find better results looking in the PsycINFO database. See the grey tab to PsycINFO for more information and tips on how to search.

Browse by call number

In your Library orientation, we looked at searching for items in the catalogue. But you might prefer to browse our collection, especially at the beginning of your research.

Plant ID books will be found in either of two call number ranges, depending on whether they are focussed on taxonomy and identification, or the cultivation of particular plants.

QK 5-495 Botany and plant science

SB 423-434 Annuals and bulbs

SB 434 Perennials

SB 435 Trees and shrubs

 

How credible are your sources?


To get more specialized information on your plants, try using the Google Advanced Search page that has many useful tools for narrowing your search.

Use the C.R.A.P. checklist to determine whether your web resource is credible.

C.R.A.P. stands for:

  • Currency - look for a copyright date or last update
  • Reliability - are there external links? a bibliograph?
  • Authority - what are the author's credentials? who is the sponsor organization?
  • Purpose - is it a commercial site? are there numerous ads?

Citing your sources

Refer to the Library's APA citation style guide for examples of properly formatted references.

Additional tools

Click on the cover of these titles to find their location in the Library.

For checking plant identification terminology, consult these titles: