Our Research database page offers you access to over 200 databases. But to start your research, we recommend:
Design Databases
Business Databases
Scholarly and popular articles for all business disciplines.
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news
Financial statements, company news, industry reports, historical information on M&A activity, country information, product and brand names, historical ratings, US executive biographies and compensation details, historical daily stock pricing back to 1925.
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. It contains statistics, reports on industries, markets, surveys, toplists, and infographics.
We are in the process of migrating toward a different authentication method., SSO login. Access may be intermittent during this switch.
KPU's subscription includes the content in the “Statistics” and “Market Insights” section, but not the content in the “Consumer Insights” or "Ecommerce Insights" sections.
Search also:
Scholarly articles from all psychological fields. Also searches book and thesis content.
To find out if the Library has full text access in print or in electronic format use the Journal Titles search.
When searching a database sometimes it only provides a citation or abstract but the full text journal article. How do I find the full text?
The Where Can I Get This link lets you know if the full-text of the article is available:
Make sure to look for the Where Can I Get This on the database page!
Find out more about Interlibrary Loans!
When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly" or "refereed" while magazine articles are usually considered "popular" or "sensational". Always know which type is acceptable for your research.
|
|
Refereed or Scholarly Journal |
Trade Publication |
Popular Magazine |
|
Format |
Has serious format |
Attractive in appearance |
Generally glossy & attractive format |
|
Graphics |
Graphs and charts to illustrate concepts |
Photos, graphics and illustrations used to enhance articles |
Photos, illustrations and drawing to enhance image of publication |
|
Sources |
Cited sources with footnotes and/or bibliography |
Occasionally cite sources, but not as a rule |
Rarely cite sources. Original sources may be obscure |
|
Authors |
Written by scholars or researchers in the field or discipline |
Written by professionals or experts in the field |
Written by the staff or free-lance writers for a broad audience |
|
Language |
Uses terminology, jargon, and the language of the discipline. Reader is assumed to have similar background |
Uses language appropriate for an educated readership |
Uses simple language for minimal educational level. Articles are short, with little depth |
|
Purpose |
To inform, report, or make original research available to the scholarly world |
Report on trends in specific industry, business or organization; give practical advice |
Designed to entertain or persuade, to sell products or services |
|
Publishers |
Generally published by a professional organization |
Published by commercial enterprises for profit |
Published for profit |
|
Advertising |
Contains selective advertising |
Carries advertising, mostly trade related |
Contains extensive advertising |
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.
You can access our research databases from home if you are a Kwantlen student or employee.