LibGuides: Canadian History: Journal Articles

Finding Articles

The Library subscribes to a number of databases of journal articles that are useful for research in History. Here are some that will help you find articles on Canadian History.

(note: for newspaper articles see "Primary Sources" tab):

CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive business, historical and current events database. It provides in-depth access to a broad range of periodicals covering Canadian topics. Remember to check the "full text" and "peer reviewed" boxes to limit your search to scholarly articles.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q) This link opens in a new window
CPI Q indexes Canadian English and French periodicals and includes selected full-text for articles from 1983 to the present. Remember to check the "full text documents" and "peer reviewed journals" boxes to ensure you retrieve scholarly articles.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new window
Documents from 1650-1920 that illuminate the experiences of European settlers and indigenous peoples in the frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Although they aren't specifically Canadian in focus, these databases may also help you find articles on topics in Canadian History:

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is a massive database, containing only full-text, scholarly journal articles. Because coverage is so extensive, many articles date from decades ago - very useful for historians. You will need to add "Canada" to your search phrase (unless it is an exclusively Canadian topic). Limit your search to "articles" (item type) - and you may want to limit to English language as well.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This is a very large database containing journal articles on virtually every topic, but you will probably need to add "Canada" to your search phrase as this is a primarily American database. Remember to check the "full text" and "scholarly (peer reviewed) journals" boxes.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

For a full list of journals dealing with Canadian history, click here.

Some of the important journals in the field are:

The Emergent Historian - a journal produced by the Kwantlen Polytechnic University Department of History. Its annual publication provides a chance to showcase the very best of our students’ work from the previous academic year.

Not sure if a journal article is scholarly / academic?

Have a look at these links:

Is this a scholarly article?

Anatomy of a scholarly article

KPU Library

Canadian History

Finding Articles