This page provides a summary of the Library resources and research tools you may find helpful for your work in AGRI 1150 and 2250.
Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.
Celia Brinkerhoff, Sustainable Agriculture Librarian
The following list of independent journalism is by no means exhaustive but provides a starting point for your research.
KPU Library subscribes to various newpaper archives, both national and local/regional. Although most newspapers have some amount of free access online, if you need articles published over the last few years (or decades, in some cases), you will need one of these databases.
Use one of the Library's reference books to get an overview of a topic. This will introduce you to specific terminology, contexts, or controversial aspects that will help you to narrow your topic to a searchable question.
The following titles are available online (You will need to log in with your KPU ID to access off campus):
And in print, at Richmond:
Summon is the large search box on the Library's homepage.
Searching here will bring up material from most of our databases and library catalogue.
So your search results will not only include books, but also:
Because the results are pulled from so many sources, your search will likely bring up thousands of matches.
Be sure to use the filters on the left of the screen to focus and narrow your search.
Look for: magazines, newspapers, and trade publications, as well as scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles.
Here's a short video with some search tips for finding ebooks using Summon.
And here is another short video on how to search for streaming videos and DVDs in the Library's collection.
Start your research with one of these databases.
Find agricultural research freely available through the National Agricultural Library's new portal PubAg.
You will be using APA style for this assignment. As of October 2019, APA has been updated.
The library's APA Citation Style guide contains details on for citing your sources, as well as sample papers.
Want to know the key differences between the 6th and 7th editions? Check out APA Manual 7th Edition: The Most Notable Changes
For a quick overview of citing the most common types of sources, see this handy Quick Reference Guide, from the APA Style Site.
