Cinahl is a large nursing database of both popular and scholarly research journal articles.
If you've never searched the database before, you may want to watch this Cinahl search video.
Find links to more nursing/health/medical databases and resources on the other tabs of this box.
Also find open web (free) evidence based medicine search tools on the next tab above and on the websites page of this guide.
Then you may want to try searching PsycINFO. It is our largest psychology database; over 99% of the content is peer-reviewed journal articles.
Looking for systematic reviews? Under the Methodology filter on the search landing page (or in the left panel of your search results) select Systematic Reviews.
Pubmed includes over 30 million citations to biomedical literature, with links to full-text for items that are freely available.
You'll see an option in the left column of search results to limit to meta-analyses and systematic reviews.
No full-text for the PubMed article you want? Copy and paste the article title you're looking for into the Summon search box on the library homepage to see if we have it in a subscription database; if not, we can bring it in for you through an interlibrary loan.
This basic search video from Johns Hopkins will probably give you enough information to start your PubMed searching.
Like PubMed, these tools are freely available on the open web (you don't need a kpu login).
If you find an article that is not available full text:
Find more resources on the Evidence Based Medicine tab on the websites page of this guide.
This 3 minute video from Bodleian Library reviews PICO and demonstrates how to turn those PICO elements from a research question into search terms.
After that video ends, another 3 minute video will start which covers how to turn those PICO search terms into a search strategy you can use in the databases and search tools highlighted on the other tabs of this box
Prefer print to video? Check out the links below.
These great evidence based practice tutorials will review EBP concepts and include PICO formulation practice exercises.
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.
Peer-reviewed articles are written by scholars and researchers, to be read by other scholars and researchers in the field.
If you aren't used to reading these kinds of articles, sometimes the language and experiment details can be difficult to read.
This video will give you some tips, so you don't waste time trying to read through a difficult article, wasting time on information not useful for your assignment.
Use the relevant checklist on these JBI or CASP websites linked below to help you zero in on the questions you need to answer.
In a database you can often filter results to "peer reviewed" or "scholarly", but maybe the search tool you are using doesn't have that option; or maybe Google Scholar is telling you it is scholarly, but you aren't sure...
Click on the purple question marks embedded throughout this article to review the characteristics of a peer-reviewed original research article.
Can't see anything below? Click on Reuse below. Then click on the X to close the box pop-up box.
Nursing guidelines are built upon evidence based practice, and this evidence generally comes from peer-reviewed research articles.
This kind of research article is among the most reliable sources of information you can find. And the most rigorous among these are systematic reviews and meta-analyses which comprehensively review and summarize all past articles published on a particular area of research.
Peer-reviewed articles are also how researchers communicate their findings, and verify, disproof or build upon the research of others.
This video will give you a quick introduction to the peer-reviewed process.
Use the search box below to find any specific journal, magazine or newspaper the Library carries, either online or in print.
Never searched for a journal before? Watch this video.
Need a journal that isn't in our collection? If you are looking for a particular article in that journal, you can place an interlibrary loan. The Library can usually email it to you within a few days.
Below are a couple of journal titles that may be of particular interest:
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.