Skip to main content

Open Education Resources

Open Access or Open Education Resource?

Many open resources can be found on the mega sites listed below. Varying degrees of 'open' exist between, and even within these megasites. It's important to assess each individual resource for it's appropriateness, accessibility and level of open.

Finding Open Textbooks

You can start with these megasites that search open content from many different sources.

Additional sites: open resources mega sites that offer books as well as other OER teaching tools.

  • Assayer- Largest catalogue of open sources textbooks. Also is a good place to find free books about math, science and computers.
  • AU Press-Athabasca University Press - free pdf and low cost print version of mainly Canadian books.
  • BCcampus OER-BCcampus open movement including textbooks.
  • BCcampus Open Textbook Directory -Established open textbook and OER collections.
  • BCcampus SOL*R-Shareable Online Learning Resources- Shareable, browseable and searchable open resources
  • Chemwiki - Open chemistry textbooks, assignments, experiments and more.
  • Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources - Advocacy, training, and links to college level open textbooks and other courseware.
  • Connexions - Content Commons of free, open-licensed educational materials in fields such as music, electrical engineering and psychology.
  • Global Text Project- "We publish open content electronic textbooks that are freely available from this website. We focus on content development and Web distribution, and we will work with relevant authorities to facilitate dissemination by other means when bandwidth is unavailable or inadequate. The goal is to make textbooks available to the many who cannot afford them."
  • HathiTrust Digital Library - HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries and their "aim to build a comprehensive archive of published literature from around the world . It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives."
  • Knowledge Unlatched - "The Knowledge Unlatched model depends on many libraries from around the world sharing the payment of a single Title Fee to a publisher, in return for a book being made available on a Creative Commons licence via OAPEN and HathiTrust as a fully downloadable PDF."
  • National Science Digital Library- Access to teaching and learning materials in the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering and mathematics). Search by level, resource type, and subject.
  • OAOpen - contains freely accessible academic books mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.
  • OER Commons - Worldwide learning network of shared teaching and learning materials.
  • Open Courseware Consortium - Collaboration of higher education institutions to share and expand their open course offerings.
  • OpenStax College- an initiative of Rice College, OpenStax offers free textbooks that are developed and peer-reviewed by educators to ensure they are readable and accurate.
  • Open SUNY Textbooks -"Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants".
  • Orange Grove Text - Florida's operational repository project of open source educational materials.
  • Saylor Free Education - Free to read versions of the texts at Flat World Knowledge
  • Textbook Revolution - "Textbook Revolution is a student-run site dedicated to increasing the use of free educational materials by teachers and professors. We want to get these materials into classrooms. On this site you'll find links and reviews of textbooks and select educational resources."
  • Wikibooks - Wikimedia's community for creating and sharing educational textbooks.

Open Textbooks as part of the KPU Library Collection

Found something you liked but would like to review it in print prior to adoption? We will try to get you a print copy! Once you have completed your review, we will put it in the library collection.

You can check our library catalogue and search for the keywords open textbook. We might already have the print copy you are after! Try it below!