LibGuides: Law: Criminal Code

Best bet: Use the CriminalSource database to find the Criminal Code, as well as references to citing cases and analysis.

Criminal Code [Official version]
Official text from Justice Canada's website.
Criminal Code [in CanLII]
Text of the Code with links to cases which have cited each section. Easier to navigate than the official version on the Justice Laws website.
Martin's Annual Criminal Code [via CriminalSource database]
Contains the text of the Criminal Code, with accompanying synopsis and annotations. Cites key cases which have tested specific sections of the Code.
Also available in print format at each campus (REF KE 8804.9 M35)
Tremeear's Criminal Code, Annotated [via CriminalSource database]
Similar to Martin's.
Also available in print format at each campus library (REF KE 8804.53 T74)
VIDEO: CriminalSource: How to quickly find a section of criminal legislation with annotations (1:57)

CriminalSource: Noting up a section of the Criminal Code
KPU Library's step-by-step instructions on locating Supreme Court of Canada decisions which have cited a specific section of the Criminal Code. Includes screenshots. You can just follow the first few steps to locate the actual legislation.

Video Tutorial: How to find the history of a specific provision of the Criminal Code (1:04)
How to use the legislative histories feature of Crankshaw's Criminal Code of Canada in CriminalSource.
CanLII Point-in-Time Search
Click on the Versions tab to compare current Criminal Code side-by-side with historical versions back to 2002. CanLII help for using this feature.
Criminal Code historical versions
Justice Canada's website includes versions of the Code back to 2003 if you are doing point-in-time research.
Digital Library on Canadian Criminal Law
Excellent digital collection of Canadian criminal legislation back to the 17th century, as well as some critical commentary.

The Criminal Code is the main piece of federal legislation, but there are a number of other statutes which contain criminal sanctions. Here are just a few:

Controlled Drugs and Substances Act
Corrections and Conditional Release Act
Firearms Act
Youth Criminal Justice Act

Use the CriminalSource database to find all of these statutes (and more), as well as references to citing cases and analysis.

Citing the whole Criminal Code:

Criminal Code, RSC 1985, c C-46.

Citing a specific section of the Criminal Code:

Follow the punctuation shown in the Code for any subsections. Here are two examples:

Criminal Code, RSC 1985, c C-46, s 229(a)(i).

Criminal Code, RSC 1985, c C-46, s 672.25(2)(b).

KPU Library

Law

Citing the whole Criminal Code:

Citing a specific section of the Criminal Code: