LibGuides: American History: Find Articles

Find Articles

Our Research databases page offers you access to over 200 databases. But to start your History research, we recommend:

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
American periodicals that document the time period 1691 to 1912. Daily life, society, industry, science, government, and many other topics can be explored through this collection. There is also substantial coverage of the Revolutionary and Civil Wars.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950
Content from a popular American magazine that documents life during this time period.

After clicking the link, scroll through the list of resources to find this collection.

Freely available to BC residents.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary full-text database of archived scholarly journals, containing a great deal of historical material. All articles are full-text and all are peer-reviewed. Lots of older material.

Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement & Colonial Encounters
Documents from 1650-1920 that illuminate the experiences of European settlers and indigenous peoples in the frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Indigenous Peoples of North America
Explore the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples of North America from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century through extensive monograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical and photograph collections.

After clicking on the link, scroll through the list of resources to find this collection.

Freely available to BC residents.
Project MUSE
Contains over 400 peer reviewed full-text journals: subjects covered include Asian studies, literature, history, politics, religious studies, women's studies, film, theatre, music, and performing arts.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
ProQuest Central
A very large multi-disciplinary article database that brings together journals across all major subject areas.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Academic Search Complete
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Cambridge Core (Journals & Ebooks)
Contains the full-text of over 200 Cambridge University Press journals - approximately 50 History journals

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Not sure if a journal article is scholarly / academic?

Have a look at these links:

Find out if KPU Library subscribes to a particular journal (print or online) by searching the Journal Titles database.

Gale NewsVault
Historical newspapers and periodicals, mainly from Britain and the United States. Dates range from the 17th to 20th centuries.

After clicking the link, scroll through the list of resources to find this collection.

Freely available to BC residents.
US Newsstream
Current American newspaper and newswire content with archival coverage to the 1980s.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

JFK Assassination Records Released:

The National Archives of the United States has released documents pertaining to the investigation of the assassination of President Kennedy that were previously withheld when the bulk (88%) of the records were made public in the late 1990s. However, a small percentage of the records are still being withheld: these deal with Grand Jury information and/or tax return data and can be released only by direct order of the President.

To access the released documents see:

National Archives - JFK Records

For more information on this subject, check out these subject headings in the library catalogue:

KPU Library

American History

Dissertations

Ask

Find Articles