Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

KPU Archives

Research Requests

Access to the Archives is by appointment only.

Please contact the Archives Librarian: archives@kpu.ca

Using Archival Records

Researchers must use extreme care when handling archival records.

Here are some general "rules" and guidelines:

  • Use pencil only
  • No food or drink
  • If a document box contains multiple files, please remove only one file at a time
  • Please keep files in original order
  • Please keep documents within a file in original order
  • Clean hands please!
  • Cotton gloves, supplied by the Archivist, may be required to handle some materials (e.g. photographs)

The link below provides access to a humourous booklet from Archives Canada for researchers illustrating improper and correct handling of archival documents.

Handle with Care: Fragile

 

Citing Archival Sources

The following information is from Dalhousie University's excellent Guide to Archival Research :

Citations typically include the following:

  • Title of the item
  • Name of fonds or collection
  • Fonds number
  • Box number
  • Folder number
  • Repository and location

For further details please consult Guide to Archival Research as mentioned above.

Citation Format - Example

Consult the appropriate manual of the style you are following for citing your sources.

The following provides an example using APA style:

The general format as provided in the APA Book (Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th Edition) is as follows (p.212):

Author, A.A. (Year, Month Day). Title of material . [Description of material]. Name of the Collection (Call number, Box number, File name or number, etc.). Name of the Repository, Location.

KPU Example:

Dale, D.R. (2001, June 12). New Building at Richmond Campus. [documents], Library fonds (Accession 2009-04, Box 4.1, File 1). Kwantlen Polytechnic University Archives, Surrey, B.C.