Skip to Main Content

Health Science

Overview

This page provides a summary of the Library resources and research tools we explored in the HSCI 1220 library orientation. I will keep it up for you for the remainder of the semester. Check back from time to time for updated content. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions, or if you'd like me to include additional links you found helpful.

Celia Brinkerhoff, Health Sciences Librarian

Celia.Brinkerhoff@kpu.ca

Science communication

Science communication is the process by which the results of primary research are:

  • shared with other scholars (conference presentations, listservs, email, and discussion)
  • reviewed by peers and then published (scholarly journals)
  • reported out to the larger public by journalists and bloggers (magazines, news, blogs)
  • and finally, preserved in libraries and repositories for future use (books and archives).

Image from Science Communication, Universidade Nova de Lisboa

Best databases

Start your research with one of these subscription databases. The library should have access to the full text of most of the journals indexed here. If you do not see the PDF or full text of an article in the database, be sure to use the "where can I get this?" link to see if it is available elsewhere.

Or try one of these for "systematic reviews" or "review articles" of primary research.

Wondering what the difference is between a systematic review and a literature review?

This guide from PennState University Libraries might help.

Citation tracking and journal title search

Found an article on a reference list and want to see if the Library has it?

Use the Journal title search linked from the Library's homepage, and enter the name of the journal (NOT the article title). If the Library subscribes to that journal, the resulting page will link you to the database where it can be found. You will have to also check the date your article was published.

Try it.

Look at the following citation.

Pattison, D. J., Harrison, R. A., & Symmons, D. P. M. (2004). The role of diet in susceptibility to rheumatoid arthritis: A systematic review. The Journal of Rheumatology, 31(7), 1310.

Does the Library have access to the full text of this article?

Yes: 1 votes (25%)
No: 3 votes (75%)
Total Votes: 4

Citing and Managing your Research

Here is a link to the Library's APA citation style guide. 

For additional help with APA formatting and citing, see the Online Writing Lab (the OWL) at Purdue University.

Visit Zotero.org for information on installing and using the citation manager.