Interior Design (IDSN)

This book explores the contribution of and art and creativity to early education, and examines the role of the atelier (an arts workshop in a school) and atelierista (an educator with an arts background) in the pioneering pre-schools of Reggio Emilia. It does so through the unique experience of Vea Vecchi, one of the first atelieristas to be appointed in Reggio Emilia in 1970.

Explores the Reggio Emilia approach to early childhood education. The Reggio Emilia approach was developed at preschools and infant-toddler centres in Reggio Emilia, Italy, and is an emergent international curriculum. Based on constructionist learning, this text is ideal for students and teachers of all experience levels.

The book is a comprehensive introduction covering history and philosophy, the parent perspective, curriculum and methods of teaching, school and system organization, the use of space and physical environments, and adult professional roles including special education. The final section describes implications for American policy and professional development and adaptations in United States primary, preschool, and child care classrooms..

Examines inquiry in all its facets, including environments that support relationships, that create a culture of risk-taking in our thinking, that support teachers as well as children, that include families, that use documentation as a way of thinking about our work, and of course, the physical environment and all the objects and spaces within it.

A progressive, research-based approach for making learning visible Based on the Reggio Emilia approach to learning, Visible Learners highlights learning through interpreting objects and artifacts, group learning, and documentation to make students' learning evident to teachers. Visible classrooms are committed to five key principles: that learning is purposeful, social, emotional, empowering, and representational. The book includes visual essays, key practices, classroom and examples.

This book will provide school personnel with functional information and the necessary academic tools to manage the instructional needs of children with auditory disorders - either peripheral hearing loss or auditory processing disorders. Treatment strategies to help mitigate the detrimental effects of hearing disorders in the classroom are explored, including the classroom conditions and barriers that impact children.

Just as it was at the time of the first International Congress, diversity continues to be the norm within the population of deaf and hard of hearing (DHH) learners on many different levels. It is argued that then, as now, differentiated educational responses were required to accommodate the diverse characteristics of the population of DHH learners.

The authors lay out the common assumptions that have driven deaf education for many years, revealing some of them to be based on questionable methods, conclusions, or interpretations, while others have been lost in the cacophony of alternative educational philosophies. They accompany their historical consideration of how this came to pass with an evaluation of the legal and social conditions surrounding deaf education today.

The book provides a focus for future educational and research efforts, and aims to promote optimal support for deaf and hard-of-hearing learners of all ages. Co-authored by two of the most respected leaders in the field, this book summarizes and evaluates research findings across multiple disciplines pertaining to the raising and educating of deaf children, providing a comprehensive but concise record of the successes, failures, and unanswered questions in deaf education.

The book features an overview of current areas of controversy and difficulty within deaf education, as well as offering practical advice and strategies for supporting deaf individuals, such as - raising literacy and numeracy standards - identifying and circumventing avoidance strategies - incorporating deaf-friendly resources and activities into lesson plans - working with parents and other professionals.

Bringing the Steiner Waldorf Approach to your Early Years Setting is an excellent introduction to this philosophy. Janni Nicol clearly explains the history of Steiner Waldorf education, the role of play in learning and the key themes of rhythm, repetition and reverence with ideas for activities and resources. Practical examples throughout the book involving children of different ages in a wide variety of settings allow readers to see the connection between theory and practice.

The authors explore key aspects of Steiner kindergarten practice, including caring for the physical environment, establishing rhythms and routines for children's activity, and providing times and spaces in which teachers and children can get to know each other. By meeting with children and teachers, through rich accounts of day to day life in kindergartens and through accounts of the values and principles which inform their practice, readers will be encouraged to question and reflect on their own approaches to observation and assessment.

Heiner Ullrich paints a concise and well-grounded portrait of the creator of the anthroposophic doctrine and Waldorf pedagogy. The text describes a wide arc from the intellectual biography of Rudolf Steiner, across his basic ideas on human development and education, to include discussion of the organisation, curriculum, methods and success of the Waldorf Schools.

A much needed source of information for those wishing to extend and consolidate their understanding of the Steiner Waldorf early childhood approach. It enables the reader to analyse the essential elements of the Steiner Waldorf Approach to early childhood and its relationship to quality early years practice.

The diverse range of critical pedagogues presented in this book comes from a variety of backgrounds with respect to race, gender, and ethnicity, from various geographic places and eras, and from an array of complex political, historical, religious, theological, social, cultural, and educational circumstances which necessitated their leadership and resistance.

Written by educational specialists and including over fifty interdisciplinary entries, this essential compendium offers accessible, detailed definitions of the core concepts typically explored on undergraduate Education Studies courses. Its interactive design clarifies topics at an introductory, intermediate and advanced level, supporting students across the three years of their undergraduate study.

The Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice.

A History of Western Philosophy of Education is the first comprehensive overview of philosophy of education from ancient times to the present day, covering 2,500 years of history.

An unrivalled introduction to the pioneers of educational theory that you won't be able to get through your studies without. This must-have book includes profiles on Vygotsky, Steiner, Montessori and Froebel, as well as 24 other theorists.

Informative and mind-opening, this text uniquely provides a comprehensive overview of a range of non-western approaches to educational thought and practice. Its premise is that understanding the ways that other people educate their children--as well as what counts for them as "education"--may help readers to think more clearly about some of their own assumptions and values, and to become more open to alternative viewpoints about important educational matters.

Indigenous scholars have been gathering, speaking, and writing about Indigenous knowledge for decades. These knowledges are grounded in ancient traditions and very old pedagogies that have been woven with the tangled strings and chipped beads of colonial relations.

This book provides an authoritative, yet accessible guide to the Philosophy of Education, its scope, its key thinkers and movements, and its potential contribution to a range of educational concerns. The text offers a balanced view of three key dimensions: first, in giving an equal weight to different styles and modes of philosophy; second, by including past and present perspectives on philosophy of education; and third, in covering both the general "perennial" issues in philosophy and issues of more contemporary concern.

Bringing together leading experts from the fields of architecture, design, engineering, education and the social sciences, this valuable collection presents a multidimensional understanding of the complexities and ways in which school designs influence and are influenced by educational practice.

Designing Schools explores the close connections between the design of school buildings and educational practices throughout the twentieth century to today. Through international cases studies that span the Americas, Europe, Africa and Australia, this volume examines historical innovations in school architecture and situates these within changing pedagogical ideas about the 'best' ways to educate children. It also investigates the challenges posed by new　technologies and the digital age to the design and use of school places.

Drawing inspiration from a variety of approaches, from Waldorf to Montessori to Reggio to Greenman, Prescott, and Olds, Designs for Living and Learning outlines hundreds of ways to create healthy and inviting physical, social, and emotional environments for children in child care.

The book presents numerous examples of dynamic designs that are the result of interdisciplinary understanding of place. Taylor includes designer perspectives, forums derived from commentary by outside contributors involved in school planning, and a wealth of photographs of thoughtful and effective solutions to create learning environments from comprehensive design criteria. Because the concept of "school" is enlarged to a community campus, the book also spawns a new model of teaching and learning.

This book blends architectural design information with theory-based content explaining the foundations of early childhood environments. Colorful photographs of intentionally designed spaces will inspire early childhood professionals and architects alike as they dream, plan, build, and revamp settings.

In School Space and its Occupation Alterator and Deed (Eds) assemble leading authors to address the ongoing need for conceptual and methodological clarity in designing and occupying innovative learning environments.

This book summarises the deep level of research carried out since 2008 within the emerging, evidence-based, translational design (EBD) approach to learning environments research. This programme has been carried out by the Learning Environments Applied Research Network of the University of Melbourne, its partners and colleagues.