LibGuides: Interior Design (IDSN): Find Journals & Articles

Find Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Our Research database page offers you access to all KPU library databases!

Not sure which database to use?

The following list highlights databases and open resources that are particularly useful for Interior Design and related research:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas. The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Architectural Digest Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of Architectural Digest, from the first issue in 1922 to 2011. Pages, advertisements, and covers are included.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window
Ebooks and images on architecture, urbanism, and interior design.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
Ebooks providing comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Fairchild Interior Design Library This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on topics related to interior design and related disciplines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
BIFMA Standards This link opens in a new window
Standards by the Business + Institutional Furniture Manufacturers Association.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
WindowsWear This link opens in a new window
Content includes visual merchandising, window displays, retail & interior design, product packaging, e-commerce, and technology.
Create an account to access content. Select the "Academic" option when signing up, find Kwantlen Polytechnic University on the list of institutions, and use your KPU email address to create the account.
Funded by the KPU Teaching & Learning Commons.
Restricted to current KPU students and employees.
ARTstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
images
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative encyclopedia articles on all aspects of art. Please disregard the prompt to sign in. Just enter terms in the search bar to continue searching.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles for all business disciplines.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Business info; business related design (e.g. restaurant design)
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

InformeDesign
This site has closed as of April 15, 2019

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from all subject areas.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Useful for design research focussed on health care facilities and hospitals
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Psychology focused articles
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Complete coverage of The Globe And Mail newspaper from 1844 to three years ago.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives that stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current American newspaper and newswire content with archival coverage to the 1980s.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Use Journal Titles to find out if the Library has access to a particular journal in print format or in electronic format (full-text articles) through one of the library subscription databases:

The Library has access to many journals through the various research databases. The following lists some of the journals that you will find in the library. Journals are located on the display shelving at the front of the library.

When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly" or "refereed" while magazine articles are usually considered "popular" or "sensational". Always know which type is acceptable for your research.

	Refereed or Scholarly Journal	Trade Publication	Popular Magazine
Format	Has serious format	Attractive in appearance	Generally glossy & attractive format
Graphics	Graphs and charts to illustrate concepts	Photos, graphics and illustrations used to enhance articles	Photos, illustrations and drawing to enhance image of publication
Sources	Cited sources with footnotes and/or bibliography	Occasionally cite sources, but not as a rule	Rarely cite sources. Original sources may be obscure
Authors	Written by scholars or researchers in the field or discipline	Written by professionals or experts in the field	Written by the staff or free-lance writers for a broad audience
Language	Uses terminology, jargon, and the language of the discipline. Reader is assumed to have similar background	Uses language appropriate for an educated readership	Uses simple language for minimal educational level. Articles are short, with little depth
Purpose	To inform, report, or make original research available to the scholarly world	Report on trends in specific industry, business or organization; give practical advice	Designed to entertain or persuade, to sell products or services
Publishers	Generally published by a professional organization	Published by commercial enterprises for profit	Published for profit
Advertising	Contains selective advertising	Carries advertising, mostly trade related	Contains extensive advertising

The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?

The Where Can I Get This link lets you know if the full-text of the article is available:

Online through another library database.
In print at the Library
via interlibrary loan .

Make sure to look for the Where Can I Get This on the database page!

Find out more about Interlibrary Loans!

You can access our research databases from home if you are a Kwantlen student or employee.

Here is the login information you will need to use to access these online resources:
- Students:
  username = student number
  password = same password used to register for classes online
- Employees:
  username = assigned short name that you use to login to office computer
  password = same password used to login to office computers or access HR self services
You must have 'Cookies' enabled on your browser. This will ensure that the system will recognize you after you enter your barcode just once despite how many databases you use during your browser session.

KPU Library

Interior Design (IDSN)

Find Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Search Tips: Academic Search Complete