LibGuides: Creative Writing: Writers' Resources

Start your research

Cindy Vallar's Favorite Research Links - Thorough list of historical resources; topics include costume history, food and drink, the history of science, etc.
Infoplease Almanac - It won't provide information in great detail, but is good if you need to know what crops are grown in a country, the name of a city's pro basketball team, etc.
Prices and Wages by Decade - links directly to data tables in historic U. S. government documents showing wages for common occupations and retail prices for typical consumer purchases

Sources on 1947 Partition

Indian Memory project
Indian Partition - from CREDO Reference Library database
India's Middle Class
The Last Journey: Exploring Social Class in the 1947 Partition Migration by Ravinder Kaur
The Middle Class in India: from 1947 to the present and beyond by Abhijit Roy
The Middle Class in India by Karuna Chanana
Selected books on partition

Immigrant Experiences - tips on doing research

Library search tools and Databases

Summon search - searches everything that Library has, in print or online format
Library catalogue - search for books and encyclopedias
Library databases: CREDO reference, Canadian Points of View

Selected sources

Canadian Encyclopedia
Vietnam Stories: Writing the “Disremembered” Histories of War - check The Symphatizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen
The Resettlement Experiences in Canada of Chinese-Vietnamese Refuges After the Vietnam War by Belinda Ha, BJ Combined Honours in Journalism and History, Carleton University, 2012

Fashion and Costume Guide - from UCLA
ArtSTor - images from all periods

Natural World Encyclopaedia Online - Images and vital information on species, places housing the species, and fascinating facts and animal behaviour.
Tree Identification Guide - Arbor Day Foundation's Guide to more than a thousand U.S. trees.
Wildflowers of North America - Wildflower Information.org's good guide to wildflowers
Dog Breed Information - sizeable list and photos of dog breeds
Cat Species - Information on all 54 species of cats with photos

Cooking Techniques - Detailed information on cooking methods

New Pages - Great list of resources for writers, including calls for submissions, contest information, and an excellent list of literary journals
AWP - The Associated Writing Program's website, which includes a detailed and helpful guide to writing programs, a guide to writers' workshops, and other resources. Some items require membership
Poets & Writers - Poets & Writers website contains key authors' resources
LitList - A free social networking site where writers can interact with industry types; also includes big listings of both online lit journals and small presses
Top 100 Creative Writing Blogs - Categorized list from Writers Write.
DailyWritingTips
Daily tips and articles on everything from writing prompts to grammar, spelling, punctuation, and vocabulary.
PIZZAZ (People Interested in Zippy and Zany Zcribbling)
This site has lots of activities to get people writing. From the University of Oregon.
William & Mary: Writing Resources Center
Writing and grammar guides and resources from the William & Mary University Writing Resources Center.
Writer's Workshop
Many areas of writing help, such as a grammar handbook, how to get friendly critiques of your writing, tips and techniques, and more. From the University of Illinois.
Writing.com
Requires free membership. Lots of resources, message boards, contests, ways to interact with other writers.
Writing Prompts
Writing prompts are posted here daily, offering inspiration for writers in all genres. Some of the prompts focus on breaking through writer's block, while others focus on building characters or refining your dialogue-writing skills.

Poets & Writers
Nicely done site from a nonprofit organization. Has online magazine, writing help, contests, directories, etc.
Poetry in the Arts
Emphasizes poetry events from all over the country, but also has good collection of "Poet and Writer Resources."
Key Poetry LibGuide curated by UCLA Librarian Robert Gore

Playwrights' Blogs and Sites
Collection of blogs and websites dedicated to the craft playwriting.

On Screenwriting
Practical advice from a Hollywood writer.
Simply Scripts
Hundreds of full scripts from movies, TV, radio, and anime.
The Thinking Writer
A blog with practical information on screenwriting.

KPU Library

Creative Writing

Start your research