Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Philosophy

Philosophy Related Databases

  • PhilPapers - PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
  • PhilArchive is an open access e-print archive for philosophical works
  • JSTOR - JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database of archived scholarly journals. Subjects include: art, history, literature, philosophy, social sciences, biology, and more. The collections do not contain current issues of journals, and typically have a "moving wall" of 3 - 5 years. 
  • Project Muse - Project Muse is a non-profit, full text repository of articles from over 400 peer reviewed titles from scholarly presses and societies.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - DOAJ This database provides access to thousands of free quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals from academic, government, commercial and non-profit organizations.
  • Academic Search Complete - Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 9,000 journals.

Scholarly & Peer-Reviewed Articles

If you're not sure whether a journal is scholarly (often called "academic" or "peer-reviewed"), look at our checklist.

Also, check the Anatomy of a Scholarly Article. It is an interactive guide to a scholarly article.