Open Educational Resources

Take note: videos on these sites are freely available but not all are openly licensed. Always check whether the license and permissions of a particular resource allow your specific use case!

• American Silent Feature Film Database - The database represents the first comprehensive survey of the survival of American silent feature films. All materials are licensed CC-BY-NC-SA
• EUscreen  -  access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives
• FedFlix - features movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from national parks to the U.S Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors. Most are in public domain and available for reuse without restrictions
• Films for Action - a community-powered learning library for people who want to change the world. You are able to show these videos in class under fair dealing, but they are not openly licensed
• Internet Archive  - This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts
• National Geographic - Short videos on a variety of topics. Not openly licensed but available to be shown
• National Screening Room - Library of Congress moving image collection. Most are in the public domain
• Open Vault  Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools. Available for educational use
• Westland - television series aired on the Knowledge Network from 1984 to 2007. Rights owned by UBC Archives