- Borrowing
If you'd prefer to browse directly, here are a few of the specific brewing journals and trade magazines available through the library. The links below will take you to the library subscription information and will indicate whether a title is online or in print.
Login with your KPU ID if you are off-campus.
Want to know if the library subscribes to a particular journal or magazine? Use the Journal title search.
Take a look at this KPU Library FAQ to learn how.
Need more focussed information on your topic? The databases listed below will provide you with articles from the scientific and professional literature. They are organized broadly by scope so pick generally according to your topic.
Remember: It's good research strategy to do your searches in MORE THAN ONE database.
To browse the more than 200 databases the library subscribes to, please visit our Research database page. From there, look for the subject filter and choose Brewing.
Current scholarly articles from many areas of science and ebooks published from 2017-2021.
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
Scholarly articles from all psychological fields. Also searches book and thesis content.
Scholarly and popular articles for all business disciplines.
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. It contains statistics, reports on industries, markets, surveys, toplists, and infographics.
We are in the process of migrating toward a different authentication method., SSO login. Access may be intermittent during this switch.
KPU's subscription includes the content in the “Statistics” and “Market Insights” section, but not the content in the “Consumer Insights” or "Ecommerce Insights" sections.
A library database provides access to the contents of thousands of scholarly journals, sometimes covering a particular discipline or sometimes multi-disciplinary in scope, meaning they may cover many subject areas.
Better than a Google search, databases come with tools that help you refine your search to get more relevant results, as well as links to related articles. In most cases, you can be confident that the articles you find will be credible sources to incorporate into your writing.
Here is an introduction to searching Academic Search Complete, one of the library's largest, multi-disciplinary databases. Although the interface is somewhat different than some of the databases the "Best bets" listed on the tab to the left, the method of searching and the features will be similar.
Key features of most databases:
Add Google Scholar to your suite of research tools. Google Scholar is a search engine that covers much of the scholarly, peer reviewed literature from academic publishers, plus conferences, theses and dissertations, abstracts and more. Some of the content is available full text, and some will be citation-only.
You can configure your settings to include links to articles available from Kwantlen Polytechnic Library subscription journals to avoid hitting publishers' paywalls. See the screenshot below.
See the KPU Library's FAQ on how to use Google Scholar.
Want a quick introduction to searching Google Scholar, including Advanced Search? Thanks to the University of Alabama Libraries for this video.