The currently accepted methods for brewing, published by the American Society of Brewing Chemists. Also includes videos and brewing calculators. Log in with your KPU ID if accessing off-campus. Some additional content is not available with our instiutional subscription.
Click the book cover, then select ASBC Methods of Analysis from the list.
The library has a selection of analytical methods from the European Brewing Convention (EBC).
You can find them here:
A good way to start your research is by doing a bit of background reading, especially if the topic is new to you.
Doing this initial legwork will help you develop your research question, identify key terminology to improve your searches, and introduce you to related topics or issues. If your topic is controversial, this first step will also introduce you to opposing viewpoints and perspectives.
The library has a large collection of reference resources, including encyclopedias, specialized handbooks, and dictionaries to help get you started.
The short video below will show you how to locate these resources through the library's Summon search interface.
Use these reference sources for quick facts, definitions, and background information. For online titles, you'll need to log in with your KPU ID for off-campus access.
APS Plant Image Database
A searchable collection of peer-reviewed images of plant diseases and pests. You are permitted to use these images and accompanying factsheets in your personal and educational work, with citations.
Books can provide an overview of your topic as well as more detailed information. A book may be an edited volume with focussed chapters by various authors or it may be a comprehensive and general introduction to a subject. Use the index and table of contents to navigate to the section of the book that will be most useful. Most ebooks have a search tool that you can use to search across the entire content for your keyword or term.
The library has a vast collection of both print and ebooks, and the best tool for locating a book is the catalogue.
If you are unfamiliar with searching the library catalogue, check out the short video below.
Most of the library's print beer and brewing books are located at the Langley campus. If you're in the mood for browsing, you'll find most in the following Library of Congress call number ranges. Not sure where to find them? Just ask us!
HD 9000-9495 Special industries. Agricultural industries.
QR 1-500 Microbiology
SB 180-3019 Field crops. Horticultural crops
SB 599-590 Pests and diseases
TP 500-660 Fermentation Industries. Beverages. Alcohol
The library has the complete set of Brewers' Publications Classic Beer Styles series.
This two volume set examines many aspects of craft beverage hospitality and tourism.
