LibGuides: Ebooks at KPU Library: Finding & Using Ebooks at the Library

Locating Our Ebooks

Search for ebooks in:

Library Catalogue - search by title or topic
Summon Search - search by title or topic and narrow to book/ebook under Content on the left
Directly through the ebook databases listed below.

Ebook Collections

Interdisciplinary Collections:

Academic Ebook Collection (EBSCO)
Ebooks spanning a wide variety of disciplines. It includes many scholarly and academic publishers as well as some non-scholarly content.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Cambridge Core (Journals & Ebooks)
Scholarly articles and ebooks across a variety of disciplines. Access is enabled for ebooks from 2015 to the present.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Canada Commons: Books and Think Tanks
Canadian scholarly and general ebooks and public policy documents.

Off campus access is restricted to current KPU students and employees.
de Gruyter Ebooks (Canadian University Presses 2019 - Present)
Ebooks from Canadian university presses published from 2019 onward. Alternately, the Scholars Portal platform provides access to Canadian university press ebooks with earlier publication dates to the present.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Ebook Central Academic Complete (ProQuest)
Ebooks spanning a wide variety of disciplines. It includes many scholarly and academic publishers as well as some non-scholarly content.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
OverDrive Ebooks & Audiobooks
OverDrive provides access to ebooks and audiobooks.

When you click to access, you will be asked a series of questions to connect you with KPU's access.
1) Do you have a library card? Answer: Yes
2) Choose: Search for a Library.
3) Search for: Kwantlen
4) Choose: Enter library account details
5) Log in with your KPU computer user name and password
6) You will see that a linked card has been created for you. Click "next" to proceed to the ebooks.
*Please note that no personal information was given to OverDrive. An anonymous token was created to link your OverDrive account to your computer login credentials.*
You can also download the Libby app to your device from the Apple App Store or Google Play.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Oxford Academic
10,000 ebooks published by Oxford University Press, in the areas of Business, Management, Economics, Finance, History, Literature, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Archaeology, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Geography, Education, Environmental Science, Environmental Science, Linguistics, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Public Health, and Epidemiology.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Sage Research Methods
Information on qualitative and quantitative research methods, mostly focusing on the social sciences. Includes ebooks, cases, videos, sample datasets, and a research project planning tool. The Foundations module provides an encyclopedia style overview of major research methodologies, their originators, and additional topics.

Off campus access restricted to current Kwantlen Polytechnic University students and employees.
Scholars Portal Ebooks (Association of Canadian University Presses)
Ebooks on multiple subject areas published by Canadian university presses. Access is also available to these books that were published in 2019 to the present on the de Gruyter platform.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
ScienceDirect
Current scholarly articles from many areas of science and ebooks published from 2017-2021.

Access from 1995 to present.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Taylor & Francis Ebooks
2016-2022 ebooks from Routledge, CRC, and all Taylor & Francis imprints.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Reference (Background Information) Collections:

Credo Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Sage Knowledge
Access to selected reference and other books published by Sage.

Off campus access restricted to current Kwantlen Polytechnic University students and employees.

Subject Specific Collections:

Berg Fashion Library
Online fashion related content including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, ebooks, and images.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library
Ebooks and images on architecture, urbanism, and interior design.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Ebooks providing comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Skillsoft Books
Business and IT ebooks.
Login required for both on campus and off campus use.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Harvard Business Ebooks
Ebooks published by Harvard Business Review.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.