LibGuides: Fine Arts: Find Journal Articles & Images

Databases

Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Portal™ is an online search platform providing global access to digitized art history texts. Through this multilingual, multicultural union catalog, scholars can search and download complete digital copies of publications for the study of art, architecture, material culture, and related fields. The Portal is free to all users.

ARTstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor Digital Library database provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. This database features one million downloadable art images covering the following genres: architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, fashion, and design. The focus is international. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, artists and artists' estates from all over the world.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Using ARTstor database

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary database of archived scholarly journals. Subjects include: business, political science, philosophy, history, life sciences, literature, music, art history, health sciences and more.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online contains Grove Art Online, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. It is the most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. It includes links to art images from galleries and museums around the world; many images are held in private collections and are not readily available elsewhere.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a non-profit, full text repository of articles from over 400 peer reviewed titles from scholarly presses and societies. Subject areas include humanities and social sciences, such as Asian studies, literature, history, politics, religious studies, women's studies, film, theatre, music, and performing arts.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Other Useful Indexes

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles from peer reviewed journals, magazines and newspapers covering a wide variety of subject areas
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive reference and current events database. It provides in-depth access to a broad range of Canadian business periodicals, company profiles, and other Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
This database contains over 2,300 full text journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and other related topics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Keeping it Honest

Kwantlen offers wireless (Wi-Fi) network service to Kwantlen employees and currently-registered students in all internal locations on the Cloverdale, Langley, Surrey and Richmond campuses. Wi-Fi access is offered for Internet (Web surfing) and email access only.

Step by step access directions

Still having troubles? Contact a Librarian.

Troubleshooting tips for Off-Campus Use

Things to check when you cannot access the article indexes

Ensure you are using the correct username which should be your 9 digit student number
Verify your password - it should be the same one you use to register for classes
Check your internet connection
Check your browser settings to ensure you are able to accept cookies

You can access our research databases from home if you are a Kwantlen student or employee.

Here is the login information you will need to use to access these online resources:
- Students:
  username = student number
  password = same password used to register for classes online
- Employees:
  username = assigned short name that you use to login to office computer
  password = same password used to login to office computers or access HR self services
You must have 'Cookies' enabled on your browser. This will ensure that the system will recognize you after you enter your barcode just once despite how many databases you use during your browser session.

KPU Library

Fine Arts

Databases

Other Useful Indexes

Keeping it Honest