The Atlas of U. S. and Canadian Environmental History
This visually dynamic historical atlas chronologically covers American environmental history through the use of four-color maps, photos, and diagrams, and in written entries from well known scholars.
The Columbia Guide to American Environmental History
How and why have Americans living at particular times and places used and transformed their environment? How have political systems dealt with conflicts over resources and conservation? This is the only major reference work to explore all the major themes and debates of the burgeoning field of environmental history.
A Companion to American Environmental History
A Companion to American Environmental History gathers together a comprehensive collection of over 30 essays that examine the evolving and diverse field of American environmental history. Provides a complete historiography of American environmental history and brings the field up-to-date to reflect the latest trends and encourages new directions for the field.
DDT, Silent Spring, and the Rise of Environmentalism
No single event played a greater role in the birth of modern environmentalism than the publication of Rachel Carson's Silent Spring and its assault on insecticides. The documents collected by Thomas Dunlap trace shifting attitudes toward DDT and pesticides in general through a variety of sources.
A Dictionary of Environmental History
An exciting blend of geography, history, archaeology, anthropology, landscape, environment and science, it seeks to reveal how human activity has affected the environment in the past and how we, in turn, have been affected by that environment.
Historical Dictionary of Environmentalism
To capture the diversity within environmentalism, this dictionary takes a global tack with a focus on ideas, events, institutions, initiatives, and green movements since the 1960s.
Earth Days - traces the origins of the modern environmental movement through the eyes of nine Americans who propelled the movement from its beginnings in the 1950s to its moment of triumph in 1970 with the original Earth Day and to its status as a major political force in America.
Mysterious Poison: History of PCBs - They are now banned worldwide-but the toxins known as PCBs are not going away. This program explains how the compounds have almost irreparably polluted the globe and still threaten future generations.
Fight to Save the River - The Hudson River, the catalyst for the conservation movement of the 19th century and the environmental movement of the 20th, remains a focus of conflicting desires and competing demands.
Deepwater Horizon, an Ecological Disaster - Rented by the BP oil company to drill an oil well in the Gulf of Mexico, the Deepwater Horizon drilling rig explodes on April 20, 2010, before sinking into the ocean and causing a gigantic oil spill.
How Climate Made History - 2-parts; explores how climate impacts history.
The Big Burn - the dramatic story of an unimaginable wildfire that swept across the Northern Rockies in the summer of 1910.
National Parks: Environmental Challenge - After a brief history of the national park movement, this program examines the challenges faced by three areas that were specially set aside for the protection of their flora and fauna-Yellowstone National Park, England's Lake District National Park, and Australia's Kakadu National Park.
Rachel Carson - provides an illuminating and inspiring portrait of a seminal figure whose writings changed the course of our nation and is still highly relevant today.
The Great Plow Up - In 1931, a decade-long drought begins in the Southern Plains, exacerbated by the Great Depression. Huge dust storms carry off the exposed topsoil and darken the skies at midday, killing crops and livestock.
Mexico Journal: Life on Earth -Urban punks with green hair and green thumbs, the members of Tierra Viva transform toxic Mexican earth into vegetable gardens.
Upstream Battle: A Case study of Native American fishing rights - The Karuk, Yurok, and Hoopa peoples live along northern California's Klamath River, and each tribe's ancient culture revolves around the majestic Pacific salmon. Today, four large hydroelectric dams have made salmon extinction a real and frightening possibility.
Climate Emergency - KPU guide
How to Do Environmental Research - excellent primer for paper writing and the research process
Environment & Society Portal - (resources) at Rachel Carson Center
Environmental History Resources (Jan Oosthoek)
NiCHE – Network in Canadian History & Environment
Forest History Society - US, but some Global & Canadian content
Georgetown Environment - JR McNeill & Georgetown University
Environmental History on the Internet - Carolyn Merchant, UC Berkeley site
H-Net Environment - amazing resource on social sciences & history research online, from forums to papers to research to course outlines
An Environmental History of the World: Humankind's Changing Role in the Community of Life addresses contentious issues such as the preservation of the wilderness, the expulsion of native Presents a concise history, from ancient to modern times, of the interactions between human societies and the natural environment, including the other forms of life that inhabit our planet.
The Great Acceleration: An Environmental History of the Anthropocene since 1945 - The pace of energy use, greenhouse gas emissions, and population growth has thrust the planet into a new age--the Anthropocene..
The Holocene: An Environmental History provides students, researchers and lay-readers with the remarkable story of how the natural world has been transformed since the end of the last Ice Age around 15,000 years ago.
The Human Footprint : A Global Environmental History - Provides a comprehensive, global, multidisciplinary history of the planet from its earliest origins to the present era.
Inescapable Ecologies: A History of Environment, Disease, and Knowledge Among the most far-reaching effects of the modern environmental movement was the widespread acknowledgment that human beings were inescapably part of a larger ecosystem.p>
Resources under Regimes: Technology, Environment, and the State - this provocative, comparative study asks to what extent the form of a government and its economy--centrally planned or market, colonial or post-colonial--determines how politicians, bureaucrats, scientists, engineers, and industrialists address environmental and social problems presented by the transformation of nature into a humanized landscape.nbsp;
The Turning Points of Environmental History From the time when humans first learned to harness fire, cultivate crops, and domesticate livestock, they have altered their environment as a means of survival.
The Wealth of Nature: Environmental History and the Ecological Imagination - offers a series of thoughtful, eloquent essays which lay out his views on environmental history, tying the study of the past to today's agenda for change.
World Fire: The Culture of Fire on Earth challenges our concepts of nature and wilderness and explains why the study and management of fire have tremendous environmental, cultural, and political implications.
Canada's Forests: A History The ten forest regions of Canada are examined, looking at how the human use of these forests has changed from the end of the last glacial period to the present.
Environmental History of Canada Throughout history most people have associated northern North America with wilderness, abundant fish and game, snow-capped mountains, and endless forest and prairie. Canada's contemporary picture gallery, however, contains more disturbing images; deforested mountains, empty fisheries, and melting ice caps.
Fixing Niagara Falls: Environment, Energy, and Engineers at the World's Most Famous Waterfall reveals the technological feats and cross-border politics that facilitated the transformation of one of the most important natural sites in North America.
Ice Blink: Navigating Northern Environmental History extends our understanding of the environmental history of northern Canada - clarifying both its practice and promise, and providing critical perspectives on current public debates.
The Industrial Transformation of Subarctic Canada reveals the history of human impact upon the North and provides a baseline, grounded in historical and scientific evidence, for measuring subarctic environmental change.
Nature, Place, and Story: Rethinking Historic Sites in Canada National historic sites commemorate decisive moments in the making of Canada. But when seen through an environmental lens, these sites become artifacts of the occupation and transformation of nature into a nation.
The Nature of Canada Intended to delight and provoke, these short, beautifully crafted essays explore how humans have engaged with the Canadian environment and what those interactions say about the nature of Canada..
A Not-So-New World: Empire and Environment in French Colonial North AmericaWhen Samuel de Champlain founded the colony of Quebec in 1608, he established elaborate gardens where he sowed French seeds he had brought with him and experimented with indigenous plants that he found in nearby fields and forests.
Shaped by the West Wind: Nature and History in Georgian Bay Along the east shore of Ontario's Georgian Bay lie the Thirty Thousand Islands, a granite archipelago scarred by glaciers, where the white pines cling to the ancient rock, twisted and bent by the west wind -- a symbol of a region where human history has been shaped by the natural environment.p>
So Far and yet So Close : Frontier Cattle Ranching in Western Prairie Canada and the Northern Territory of Australia provides a comparative study of frontier cattle ranching in two societies on opposite ends of the globe. It is also an environmental history that at the same time centres on both the natural and frontier environments.
States of Nature: Conserving Canada's Wildlife in the Twentieth Century one of the first books to trace the development of Canadian wildlife conservation from its social, political, and historical roots.
Time and a Place : An Environmental History of Prince Edward Island With its long and well-documented history, Prince Edward Island makes a compelling case study for thousands of years of human interaction with a specific ecosystem.
Ancient Pathways, Ancestral Knowledge: Ethnobotany and Ecological Wisdom of Indigenous Peoples of Northwestern North America challenges and contributes to existing knowledge of Indigenous peoples' land stewardship while preserving information that might otherwise have been lost..
Civilizing the Wilderness: Culture and Nature in Pre-confederation Canada and Rupert's Land explores the meaning of the concepts "civilizing" and "wilderness" within an 1850s Euro-British North American context.
Environmental Activism on the Ground: Small, Green and Indigenous Organization draws upon a wide range of interdisciplinary scholarship to examine small scale, local environmental activism, paying particular attention to Indigenous experiences.
Everyday Exposure: Indigenous Mobilization and Environmental Justice in Canada's Chemical Valley Near the Ontario-Michigan border, Canada's densest concentration of chemical manufacturing surrounds the Aamjiwnaang First Nation.
Intersections of Indigenous and Environmental History in Canada journal article
The nature of empires and the empires of nature: Indigenous peoples of the Great Lakes Environment explores, from Indigenous or Indigenous-influenced perspectives, the power of nature and the attempts by empires (United States, Canada, and Britain) to control it.
City on Fire: Technology, Social Change, and the Hazards of Progress in Mexico City, 1860-1910 By the mid-nineteenth century, efforts to modernize and industrialize Mexico City had the unintended consequence of exponentially increasing the risk of fire while also breeding a culture of fear.
Defending the Land of the Jaguar : A History of Conservation in Mexico - despite a long history dedicated to the pursuit of development regardless of its environmental consequences, Mexico has an equally long, though much less developed and appreciated, tradition of environmental conservation.nbsp;
Instituting Nature: Authority, Expertise, and Power in Mexican Forests A study of how encounters between forestry bureaucrats and indigenous forest managers in Mexico produced official knowledge about forests and the state.
A Land Between Waters : Environmental Histories of Modern Mexico - Mexico is one of the most ecologically diverse nations on the planet, with landscapes that range from rainforests to deserts and from small villages to the continent's largest metropolis. .
Stealing Shining Rivers : Agrarian Conflict, Market Logic, and Conservation in a Mexican Forest describes how a rain forest in Mexico's southern state of Oaxaca was appropriated and redefined by environmentalists who initially wanted to conserve its biodiversity.
American Environmental History: An Introduction addresses contentious issues such as the preservation of the wilderness, the expulsion of native peoples from national parks, and population growth, and considers the formative forces of gender, race, and class.
Car Country : An Environmental History - takes readers on a tour of the evolving American landscape, charting the ways that transportation policies and land-use practices have combined to reshape nearly every element of the built environment around the easy movement of automobiles.
City of Lake and Prairie: Chicago's Environmental History - early residents in the land that Chicago now occupies enjoyed natural advantages, economic opportunities, and global connections over centuries
Conservation in the Progressive Era : Classic Texts - These lively selections provoke unexpected questions and ideas about many of the significant environmental issues facing us today.
Insatiable Appetite : The United States and the Ecological Degradation of the Tropical World - In the late 1800s American entrepreneurs became participants in the 400-year history of European economic and ecological hegemony in the tropics.
The Price of Permanence: Nature and Business in the New South - A sweeping reinterpretation of the post-Civil War South by framing the New South as a struggle over environmental stewardship.
The Republic of Nature: An Environmental History of the United States - reframes the canonical account of American history based on the simple but radical premise that nothing in the nation's past can be considered apart from the natural circumstances in which it occurred.
Second Nature: An Environmental History of New England - explores the mix of ecological process and human activity that shaped that history over the past 12,000 years and traces a succession of cultures through New England's changing postglacial environment down to the 1600s, when the arrival of Europeans interrupted this coevolution of nature and culture.
US Environmental History: Inviting Doomsday - Reflects on contemporary ruminations over whether nature as a category endures given both the rising contamination of the US landscape and consumer proclivity for celebrating fake mementos of the outdoors.
Where Land and Water Meet : A Western Landscape Transformed - explores the ways people have envisioned boundaries between water and land, the ways they have altered these places, and the often unintended results.
Nature’s Experts: Science, Politics and the Environment - explores the contributions and challenges presented when scientific authority enters the realm of environmental affairs.
Moving Natures: Mobility and Environment in Canadian History - highlights three quintessentially Canadian themes: seasonality, links between mobility and natural resource development, and urbanites' experiences of the environment through mobility.
Animal Metropolis : Histories of Human-Animal Relations in Urban Canada - brings a Canadian perspective to the growing field of animal history, ranging across species and cities, from the beavers who engineered Stanley Park to the carthorses who shaped the city of Montreal.
Epidemics, Empire & Environments: Cholera in Madras & Quebec City - offers a probing case study of the environmental changes made to fight cholera in two markedly different British colonies: Madras in India and Quebec City in Canada.
Inventing Stanley Park: An Environmental History - depicts the natural and cultural forces that shaped the park's landscape, and examines the roots of our complex relationship with nature.
The Culture of Flushing : A Social and Legal History of Sewage - examines the social and legal history of sewage in Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom demonstrates that the uncontroversial reputation of flushing is deceptive.
Emerald City: An Environmental History of Seattle - using Seattle as a compelling case study, this book offers important insights for every city seeking to live in harmony with its natural landscape.
City of Lake and Prairie : Chicago's Environmental History - reveals a rich but often troubled landscape shaped by communities of color, workers, and activists as well as complex human relations with industry, waterways, animals, and disease.
Land of Sunshine: An Environmental History of Metropolitan Los Angeles - a nuanced and rich portrait of Los Angeles that will serve planners, communities, and environmentalists as they look to the past for clues, if not blueprints, for enhancing the quality and viability of cities.
Coastal Metropolis : Environmental Histories of Modern New York City - offers new insight into how the modern city transformed its air, land, and water as it grew.
Driven Wild: How the Fight against Automobiles Launched the Modern Wilderness Movement - In its infancy, the movement to protect wilderness areas in the United States was motivated less by perceived threats from industrial and agricultural activities than by concern over the impacts of automobile owners seeking recreational opportunities in wild areas.
Environmental Justice in Postwar America: A Documentary Reader - This reader collects a wide range of primary source documents on the rise and evolution of the environmental justice movement.
At Wilderness Edge: Rise of the Anti-development Movement in Canada - journal article, 2020
Canadian Countercultures and the Environment - contributes a sustained analysis of the beginning of key environment debates in the 1970s and 1980s.
Green-lite: Complexity in Fifty Years of Canadian Environmental Policy, Governance, and Democracy - a critical examination of Canadian environmental policy, governance, and politics drawing out key policy and governance patterns to show that the Canadian story is one of complexity and often weak performance.
Canadian Environment in Political Context - a non-technical approach to introduce environmental politics to undergraduate readers.
Environmental Racism in the United States and Canada: Seeking Justice and Sustainability - provides readers with an enhanced understanding of how poor and minority people are affected by natural and manmade environmental crises.
The First Green Wave: Pollution Probe and the Origins of Environmental Activism in Ontario - At the heart of the story is Pollution Probe, an organization founded in 1969 by students and faculty at the University of Toronto.
A Prison in the Woods : Environment and Incarceration in New York's North Country - traces the planning, construction, and operation of penitentiaries in five Adirondack Park communities from the 1840s through the early 2000s to demonstrate that the histories of mass incarceration and environmental consciousness are interconnected.
Tainted Earth: Smelters, Public Health and the Environment - documents the response from community residents, public health scientists, the industry, and the government to pollution from smelters as well as the long road to protecting public health and the environment.
Smarter Growth: Activism and Environmental Policy in Metropolitan Washington - offers a fresh understanding of environmental politics in metropolitan America, using the Washington, D.C. area as a case study.
Environment in the Balance: Green Movement and the Supreme Court - interprets a wide range of U.S. Supreme Court decisions over four decades and explores the current ferment among activists, to gauge the practical and cultural impact of environmentalism and its future prospects.
The Promise of Wilderness: American Environmental Politics since 1964 - shows how battles over wilderness protection have influenced American politics more broadly.
Arming Mother Nature: The Birth of Catastrophic Environmentalism - explains how the environmental movement--and its dire predictions--owe more to the Pentagon than the counterculture.
Clean and White: A History of Environmental Racism in the United States - offers a history of environmental racism in the United States focusing on constructions of race and hygiene.
Canadian Forest Policy: Adapting to Change - Arguing that the complexity of policy-making in the forest sector has led many analysts to focus exclusively on specific sectoral activities or jurisdictions, this collection of essays offers a simplifying framework of analysis.
Places of Last Resort: The Expansion of the Farm Frontier into the Boreal Forest of Canada c. 1910-1940 - includes a series of gripping case studies to illustrate both the face of failure and what appear to have been the ingredients for success in marginal areas.
Quebec’s Forest Regimes : Lessons for a Return to Prosperity - Research Paper
Deforesting the Earth : From Prehistory to Global Crisis - explores how the thinning, changing and wholesale clearing of forests are among the most important ways humans have transformed the global environment.
Fire Management in the American West: Forest Politics and the Rise of Megafires - shows how the US forest industry, under the constraint of profitability, pushed the USFS away from private industry regulation and toward fire exclusion, eventually changing national forest policy into little more than fire policy.
The Bitterroot and Mr. Brandborg: Clearcutting and the Struggle for Sustainable Forestry in the Northern Rockies - how one national forest supervisor understood the intricate connection between the grasslands and forests under his care and the communities that were so dependent on these invaluable resources, opens a much larger story about the meaning of public lands in a democratic society.
Forests for the People: The Story of America's Eastern National Forests - tells one of the most extraordinary stories of environmental protection in our nation's history: how a diverse coalition of citizens, organizations, and business and political leaders worked to create a system of national forests in the Eastern United States.
Between Two Fires: A Fire History of Contemporary America - tells of a fire revolution that began in the 1960s as a reaction to simple suppression and single-agency hegemony, and then matured into more enlightened programs of fire management.
Drawing Lines in the Forest: Creating Wilderness Areas in the Pacific Northwest - discusses the roles played by various groups--the Forest Service, the timber industry, recreationists, and environmentalists--in arriving at wilderness boundaries.
Forest Dreams, Forest Nightmares: The Paradox of Old Growth in the Inland West - unravels the disturbing history of what went wrong with the western forests, despite the best intentions of those involved.
Ecological Imperialism: The Biological Expansion of Europe, 900-1900 - Crosby maintains in this highly original and fascinating book, the Europeans' displacement and replacement of the native peoples in the temperate zones was more a matter of biology than of military conquest.
The War on Weeds in the Prairie West: An Environmental History - documents the arrival of weeds with seed from England in the sixteenth century, how these foreign seeds survived and thrived on the plains of North America for centuries to come, and governmental perceptions and legislations against weeds.
Mining and Communities in Northern Canada: History, Politics, and Memory - examines historical and contemporary social, economic, and environmental impacts of mining on Aboriginal communities in northern Canada.
Fossilized Environmental Policy and Canada’s Petro-Provinces - Thanks to increasingly extreme forms of oil extraction, Canada's largest oil-producing provinces underwent exceptional economic growth from 2005 to 2015.
Wet Prairie: People, Land and Water in Agricultural Manitoba - The Canadian prairies are often envisioned as dry, windswept fields; however, much of southern Manitoba is not arid plain but wet prairie, poorly drained land subject to frequent flooding.
Flax Americana: A History of the Fibre and Oil that Covered a Continent - re-examines the changing relationships between farmers, urban consumers, and the land through a narrative of Canada's first and most important industrial crop.
Mining North America: An Environmental History since 1522 - the essays in this book make a powerful case for the centrality of mining in forging North American environments and societies.
Farming Across Borders: A transnational History of the North American West - uses agricultural history to connect the regional experiences of the American West, northern Mexico, western Canada, and the North American side of the Pacific Rim.
Crow’s Range: An Environmental History of the Sierra Nevada - examines the history of the Sierra Nevada's geologic beginnings and various ecological communities.
The Greater Plains: Rethinking a Region's Environmental Histories - tells a new story of a region, stretching from the state of Texas to the province of Alberta, where the environments are as varied as the myriad ways people have inhabited them.
Exceptional Mountains: A Cultural History of the Pacific Northwest Volcanoes - probes the relationship between these volcanoes and regional identity, particularly in the era of mass mountaineering and population growth in the Northwest.
Irrigated Eden: The Making of an Agricultural Landscape in the American West - vividly portrays how human actions inadvertently helped to create a strange and sometimes baffling ecology.
Orange Empire: California and the Fruits of Eden - This innovative history of California opens up new vistas on the interrelationship among culture, nature, and society by focusing on the state's signature export--the orange.
Dreaming of Sheep in Navajo Country - a compelling and important story that looks at the people and conditions that contributed to a botched policy whose legacy is still felt by the Navajos and their lands today.
Plowed Under: Agriculture and Environment in the Palouse - traces the transformation of the Palouse region of Washington and Idaho from land thought unusable and unproductive to a wealth-generating agricultural paradise, weighing the consequences of what this progress has wrought.
A History of Oil Spills on Long-Distance Pipelines in Canada - journal article; Canadian Historical Review, 2020
War Junk: Munitions Disposal and Postwar Reconstruction in Canada - reveals the complex political, economic, social, and environmental legacies of munitions disposal in Canada.
Natural Disasters in a Global Environment - a transnational, global and environmental history of natural and man-made disasters.
The Miramichi Fire: A History - On 7 October 1825, a massive forest fire swept through northeastern New Brunswick, devastating entire communities. When the smoke cleared, it was estimated that the fire had burned across six thousand square miles, one-fifth of the colony.
Awful Splendour: A Fire History of Canada - Fire is a defining element in Canadian land and life. With few exceptions, Canada's forests and prairies have evolved with fire.
From Love Canal to Environmental Justice: The Politics of Hazardous Waste on the Canada-US Border - Traces the history of environmental policy and politics from the seminal moments of 1978 at Love Canal to current environmental justice disputes.
A Cultural History of Climate Change - examines how contemporary ecological thought has repoliticised the representation of nature and detail vital aspects of the history and prehistory of our climatic modernity.
Making Climate Change History: Documents from Global Warming's Past - pulls together key documents from the scientific and political history of climate change, including congressional testimony, scientific papers, newspaper editorials, court cases, and international declarations.
Seismic City: An Environmental History of San Francisco's 1906 Earthquake - demonstrates how the crisis and subsequent rebuilding reflect the dynamic interplay of natural and human influences that have shaped San Francisco.
Three Mile Island: The Meltdown Crisis and Nuclear Power in American Popular Culture - explains the far-reaching consequences of the partial meltdown of Pennsylvania's Three Mile Island power plant on March 28, 1979.
Acts of God: The Unnatural History of Natural Disasters in America - As the waters of the Mississippi River and Lake Pontchartrain began to pour into New Orleans, people began asking the big question--could any of this have been avoided?
Environmental Histories of the Cold War - explores the links between the Cold War and the global environment, ranging from the environmental impacts of nuclear weapons to the political repercussions of environmentalism.
Environmental Histories of the First World War - presents the ecological consequences of the vast destructive power of the new weaponry and the close collaboration between militaries and civilian governments taking place during this time, showing how this war set trends for the rest of the century.
Scorched Earth: Environmental Warfare As a Crime Against Humanity and Nature - explains why ecocide and genocide are not separate phenomena, and why international law must recognize environmental warfare as a violation of human rights.
An Environmental History of the Civil War - recognizes that the Civil War was not just a military conflict but also a moment of profound transformation in Americans' relationship to the natural world.
The Blue, the Gray and the Green: Toward an Environmental History of the Civil War - explores how nature-disease, climate, flora and fauna, and other factors-affected the war and also how the war shaped Americans' perceptions, understanding, and use of nature.
Environmental History of the UK Defence Estate: 1945 to the Present - explores the environmental history of the British military through a comparative framework of five key sites in England and Wales.
War and the Environment: Military Destruction in the Modern Age - explores the intertwined relationship of military conflict and the environment—and the attendant human suffering.
Nature at War: American Environments and World War II - examines American involvement in World War II through an environmental lens.
Range Wars: The Environmental Contest for White Sands Missile Range - Established in south-central New Mexico at the end of World War II, White Sands Missile Range is the largest overland military reserve in the western hemisphere.
What is Water? The History of a Modern Abstraction - We all know what water is, and we often take it for granted. But the spectre of a worldwide water crisis suggests that there might be something fundamentally wrong with the way we think about water.
Fish versus Power: an environmental history of the Fraser River - an environmental history of the Fraser River (British Columbia) and the attempts to dam it for power and to defend it for salmon.
Allied Power: Mobilizing Hydro-electricity during Canada’s Second World War - examines the mobilization of Canadian hydro-electricity during the war and the impact of that wartime expansion on Canada's power systems, rivers, and politics.
The River Returns: An Environmental History of the Bow - brings the story of the Bow River's transformation full circle through an exploration of the recent revolution in environmental thinking and regulation that has led to new limits on what might be done with and to the river.
Border Flows: A Century of Canadian-American Water Relationships - traces the century-long effort by Canada and the United States to manage and care for their ecologically and economically shared rivers and lakes.
The Greater Gulf: Environmental History of the Gulf of St. Lawrence - The largest estuary in the world, the Gulf of St Lawrence is defined broadly by an ecology that stretches from the upper reaches of the St Lawrence River to the Gulf Stream, and by a web of influences that reach from the heart of the continent to northern Europe.
Fishing a Borderless Sea: Environmental Territorialism in the North Atlantic, 1818-1910 - illustrates how everyday laborers created a complex system of environmental stewardship that enabled them to control the local resources while also allowing them access into the larger global economy.
Unruly Waters: Social and Environmental History of the Brazos River - Running more than 1,200 miles from headwaters in eastern New Mexico through the middle of Texas to the Gulf of Mexico, the Brazos River has frustrated developers for nearly two centuries.
Contested Waters: Environmental History of the Colorado River - tells the river's story - a story of conquest, control, division, and depletion.
This Delta, This Land: Environmental History of the Yazoo-Mississippi Floodplain - a comprehensive environmental history of the Yazoo-Mississippi Delta-the first one to place the Delta's economic and cultural history in an environmental context.
Environmental History of the Hudson River: Human Uses that Changed the Ecology, Ecology that Changed Human Uses - examines how the natural and physical attributes of the river have influenced human settlement and uses, and how human occupation has, in turn, affected the ecology and environmental health of the river.
Cape Cod: An Environmental History of a Fragile Ecosystem - Cape Cod's history of resource scarcity and its attempts to deal with that scarcity offer useful lessons for anyone addressing similar issues around the globe.
Whales & Nations: Environmental Diplomacy on the High Seas - provides a unique perspective on the challenges facing international conservation projects.
Empire of Water: An Environmental and Political History of the New York City Water Supply - shows how the task of providing water to New Yorkers transformed the natural and built environment of the city, its suburbs, and distant rural watersheds.
The Big Muddy: An Environmental History of the Mississippi and Its Peoples, from Hernando de Soto to Hurricane Katrina - offers a brilliant tour across five centuries as he illuminates the interaction between people and the landscape, from early hunter-gatherer bands to present-day industrial and post-industrial society.
River Republic: The Fall and Rise of America's Rivers - chronicles the surging grassroots movement to bring America's rivers back to life and ensure they remain pristine for future generations.
The Fisherman’s Frontier: People and Salmon in Southeast Alaska - examines the economic, social, cultural, and political context in which salmon have been harvested in southeast Alaska over the past 250 years.
Public Power, Private Dams: The Hells Canyon High Dam Controversy - In the years following World War II, the world's biggest dam was almost built in Hells Canyon on the Snake River in Idaho.
Working for Wildlife: The Beginnings of Preservation in Canada - shows how a small band of dedicated civil servants transformed their own goals of preserving endangered animals into active government policy.
Climber’s Paradise: Making Canada’s Mountain Parks, 1906 - 1974 - The Alpine Club of Canada imagined the Rockies and neighbouring ranges to the west and the north as a "climber's paradise."
A Century of Parks Canada, 1911 - 2011 - When Canada created a Dominion Parks Branch in 1911, it became the first country in the world to establish an agency devoted to managing its national parks.
Bison and People on the North American Great Plains: A Deep Environmental History - brings together voices from several disciplines to offer new insights on the relationship between humans and animals that approached extinction.
Calgary: City of Animals - This wide-ranging book explores the ways that animals inhabit our city, our lives and our imaginations.
Resettling the Range: Animals, Ecologies, and Human Communities in British Columbia - When settlers and governments separated environmental issues from their social and ecological contexts, they not only made their problems worse in many cases, but also created new ones that no one anticipated.
Who Controls the Hunt? First Nations, Treaty Rights, and Wildlife Conservation in Ontario, 1783-1939 - traces the political and legal arguments arising from the interplay of Ojibwa treaty rights, provincial and dominion government interests, and the corporate concerns of the Hudson's Bay Company.
Cattle Colonialism: An Environmental History of the Conquest of California and Hawai’i - In the nineteenth century, the colonial territories of California and Hawai'i underwent important cultural, economic, and ecological transformations influenced by an unlikely factor: cows.
Environmental History of Wildlife in England, 1650 - 1950 - examines the impact of social and economic organisation on the English landscape, biodiversity, the agricultural revolution, landed estates, the coming of large-scale industry and the growth of towns and suburbs.
Windshield Wilderness: Cars, Roads and Nature in Washington's National Parks - explores the relationship between automobiles and national parks, and how together they have shaped our ideas of wilderness.
Reel Nature: America’s Romance with Wildlife on Film - reveals how changing values, scientific developments, and new technologies have come to shape American encounters with wildlife on and off the big screen.
