The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?
Your search result page will let you know if the full-text of the article is available. If it is not, you can submit an Interlibrary Loan and we will find the article at another institution and send it to you.
Make sure to look for the link to full text database page when it is available!
Find out more about Interlibrary Loans!
Check your Interlibrary Loan Account.
Find out if Kwantlen Library subscribes to a particular journal. It's quick and easy - enter your title in the blank below.
Our Research database page offers you access to over 100 databases. But to start your research, we recommend:
When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly" or "refereed" while magazine articles are usually considered "popular" or "sensational". Always know which type is acceptable for your research.
| Refereed or Scholarly Journal | News/General Interest | Popular Magazine | Sensational Publication | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Format | Has serious format | Attractive in appearance | Generally slick/glossy with an attractive format | Cheap newspaper format |
| Graphics | Graphs and charts to illustrate concepts | Photos, graphics and illustrations used to enhance articles | Photos, illustrations and drawing to enhance image of publication | Contains melodramatic, lurid or "doctored" photos |
| Sources | Cited sources with footnotes and/or bibliography | Occasionally cite sources, but not as a rule | Rarely cite sources. Original sources may be obscure | Rarely cite sources of information |
| Authors | Written by scholars or researchers in the field or discipline | Written for an educated, general audience by staff, free-lance or scholarly writers | Written by the staff or free-lance writers for a broad audience | Written by free-lance or staff writers |
| Language | Uses terminology, jargon, and the language of the discipline. Reader is assumed to have similar background | Uses language appropriate for an educated readership | Uses simple language for minimal educational level. Articles are short, with little depth | Contains language that is simple, easy-to-read and understand. Sensational style is often used |
| Purpose | To inform, report, or make original research available to the scholarly world | Provide general information to a wide, interested audience | Designed to entertain or persuade, to sell products or services | Arouse curiosity and interest by distorting the truth. Often uses outrageous or startling headlines |
| Publishers | Generally published by a professional organization | Published by commercial enterprises for profit | Published for profit | Published for profit |
| Advertising | Contains selective advertising | Carries advertising | Contains extensive advertising | Contains advertising as alluring and startling as the stories |
| Examples | American Journal of Sociology, Harvard Business Review, Canadian Historical Review | Atlantic Monthly, Newsweek, Fortune, Psychology Today, Scientific American | Better Homes and Gardens, GQ, Glamour, People, Sports Illustrated | Globe, National Enquirer, National Examiner, Star, Sun |
