LibGuides: Quick Search & Health Articles: Psychiatric Nursing

The best tool to find nursing articles

Cinahl: The largest database of Nursing journal articles
Translate your research topic into a search strategy

Fast start tips to search Cinahl

Find a link to the Cinahl database below
Enter search terms in different boxes or use the PICOT search (link is in the top right corner of search boxes)
Use the filters under the search boxes to narrow your search results

Prefer to see these tips in action? Watch the 5 minute introductory video embedded here

Click on: "Translate your research topic into a search strategy" at the top of this box if you:

don't know what PICOT is (also known as PICO)
want tips on building a good database search for your clinical question

CINAHL Complete
Scholarly nursing and allied health articles.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

VIDEO: How to broaden or narrow your Cinahl search
If you are getting too many, or not enough results with your Cinahl searches, watch this video tutorial for some more advanced search tips.

Translate your clinical question into a database search

This 3 minute video from Bodleian Library demonstrates

the PICO Framework used to formulate clinical questions
how to transform PICO elements from a research question into effective database search terms

Prefer print to video? Check out the links below.

Finding the evidence - 7 Steps using PICO searching to support evidence-based nursing practice
Excellent overview from the Clinical Knowledge Network on evidence-based research, using the PICO framework, with a sample CINAHL search. Note: the image of the Cinhal search boxes in this handout look different in the database now - but the search tips are still the same.

Article Search Strategy Organizer - Nursing
For those who prefer forms - this fillable PDF can help keep track of searches and articles.

Need something more in-depth?

The evidence based practice tutorials below will review Evidence Based Practice concepts and include PICO formulation practice exercises.

Introduction to Evidence Based Practice
Great multi-module interactive tutorial from Duke University Medical Center Library
Evaluating Internet Health Information
An interactive tutorial from the National Library of Medicine

More search tools to find health related articles

Best Bet: PubMed

Pubmed includes over 30 million citations to biomedical literature, with links to full-text for items that are freely available.

Fast start tips

Use keywords or PICO elements rather than sentences or questions in the search box
The filters in the left column will help narrow your search results

If you ever find an article anywhere online that is not available full text never pay money for it!

Search the title of the article in the Library 's Summon search box
If it isn't available there, place an interlibrary loan and the Library can usually email the article to you in a few days for free

Are there other KPU databases with articles of interest?

Looking for psychology articles? Check the KPU PSYC related articles databases tab at the top of this box.
Click on the More KPU health articles databases tab at the top of this box.

Below find links to more freely available health article search tools

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
Clinical search engine which includes a PICO search interface option and evidence mapping tool. Filters include systematic reviews and practice guidelines by country.
NICE Evidence Search
From the British National Institute for Health & Care Excellence, offers several filters for your search results including evidence summaries and systematic reviews.
MedNar
An alternative to Google for evidence-based health information, this is a medically-focused deep web search engine. Just be careful to look at the source of the information, as MedNar does include patient level sources (like WebMD).
Cochrane Plain Language Reviews
The Cochrane Collaboration produces systematic reviews of research for health care professionals. Their full reviews are in the Library's LWW database, but Cochrane has also developed free Plain Language write ups of thousands of their reviews to help the general public make informed, evidence-based decisions.
Global Index Medicus
Millions of biomedical & public health articles from low-middle income countries, collated and aggregated by the World Health Organization. You'll want to use the filters on the left to limit to English; there is also an option to limit to systematic reviews.
Epistemonikos
Though not full-text, this is a large international database, allowing you to filter search results to Primary Research and Systematic Reviews.
Looking for the latest research? MedRXiv
A database of pre-publication health/medical research articles. Because these have not finished going through the peer-review process yet, be sure to read any articles you find with a critical eye.

Best Bet for Psychology articles: PsycINFO

Over 99% of the content in PsycINFO is peer-reviewed journal articles.
See additional smaller Psychology article databases below the PsycINFO link.
You'll need to use your KPU login to access these off campus.

PsycINFO
Scholarly articles from all psychological fields. Also searches book and thesis content.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Psychology Database
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
PsychiatryOnline
Online access to the DSM 5 and other reference works and journals in psychiatry.

Off campus access restricted to current Kwantlen Polytechnic University students and employees.

You will need your KPU login for off campus access to these resources.

MEDLINE with Full Text (Ebsco)
Scholarly articles from across the medical, nursing, and allied health disciplines - EBSCO interface.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBMR)
Evidence based medical resources including the Cochrane Reviews.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Health & Medical Collection
Journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive
Scholarly articles from journals spanning a variety of medical fields.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Public Health Database
Covers core public health literature.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Healthcare Administration Database
Contains articles, theses, and dissertations relevant to all areas of healthcare administration.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Consumer Health Database
Journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects related to consumer health topics and audiences.

Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

KPU Library

Quick Search & Health Articles