Click on the 'Library Services' tab above to read more.
Click on the 'Teaching Resources' tab above to read more.
Click on the 'Teaching Resources' tab above to read more.
χʷəχʷéy̓əm opens at Surrey Campus Library
Click on the 'Library Space' tab above to read more.
New Climate Emergency guide
This information guide is a great place to start to educate your students about the Climate Emergency; we've tried to make it interactive with a variety of resources, utilize openly accessible content where possible, and selected resources that are available to all. We've linked to resources about climate policy on the local level, climate science podcasts, and decolonization and climate justice.
This guide is appropriate for all levels of interest: whether or not you are new to the conversation or if you're a seasoned veteran, you'll find resources here to help further your knowledge on this important and timely topic.
We encourage instructors to share this with your students or even incorporate it into your lessons, and for students or individuals interested in the Climate Emergency to use this guide to help support your self-education.
Take a look at the Climate Emergency Guide, by KPU Librarians Celia Brinkerhoff and Allison Richardson.
Direct from the Modern Language Association, KPU Library is pleased to announce that our subscription to the MLA Handbook now allows our users access to a new, 12 part, introductory course called MLA Style 101. The course features 9 videos to help you and your students learn about the core elements of citation using MLA style.
Check it out! Visit MLA Handbook, 9th edition, and click on 'Courses' on the grey menu ribbon.
Screen capture from: Modern Language Association. "Course: MLA Style 101." MLA Handbook Plus,
https://mlahandbookplus-org.ezproxy.kpu.ca:2443/courses/pages/mla-style-101. Accessed 11 May 2022.
Chicago Style Citations is a tutorial that covers the importance of citations, elements of common source types, and how to create footnotes or endnotes and bibliographic citations based on the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition).
Chicago Style Citations is an open resource published using Pressbooks. This means instructors can easily share and incorporate content from this resource in their lessons. "Why do we cite?" and "What is a footnote or endnote?" are just two examples of topics that can be integrated in your class work or assignments. In addition to information and instruction on how to cite using the Chicago Manual of Style, there are also activities and exercises to help build citation skills. Chicago Style Citations can also be used as a reference resource.
Read Chicago Style Citations.
Check out our page, Library Instruction, for all of the available options. Librarians can help you and your students learn library research skills. We can show your students how to search for material, use the library, specific databases and resources, citation--and more! We have both synchronous and asynchronous options available.
Want to talk it out? Contact your Liaison Librarian and they can help you figure out the best way to meet you and your students' needs.
Academic Integrity is an open resource from the library that can be easily integrated into your instruction and accessed online anytime. You can also have your students enroll in a corresponding Moodle course to earn a badge. Many instructors assign the course as an assignment alongside or prior to students' first paper of the term. The content is designed to help students understand the importance of adhering to academic integrity principles and raise their awareness around plagiarism, citation, quoting and paraphrasing, and KPU assistance in these areas.
Visit our Academic Integrity Moodle Course page to access this open resource and for the link for students to enroll to earn their badge.
Please note: With the recent shift of courses to a new Moodle site (courses.moodle.kpu.ca), the Academic Integrity Recognition badge is not visible on student profiles on this new site. As the AI Tutorial will stay on the old Moodle site (courses.kpu.ca), and as AI badges are tied to students’ profiles on the old site, they are not visible in their student profiles from the new Moodle site. This applies to badges earned previously as well as to new badges earned. To learn about the recommendations on how to ask for proof of completion from your students, visit the Academic Integrity Moodle Course page
The Library's Doing Research: A Student's Guide to Finding and Using the Best Sources has four modules:
Every module should take approximately 20 minutes to complete and consists of written text, video, interactive H5P activities and a short quiz (linked through your Moodle site) that will be graded.
These modules roughly follow the research process, so you can assign one or more of them to your students depending on the class/assignment requirements at any particular point in the course. We have instructions for embedding the modules, or component parts, into Moodle.
If you have questions about this tutorial or have trouble integrating it into your courses, please contact Celia at email@example.com.
This tutorial is a great alternative to our in-person library research sessions, if you need a remote option. Want to know your options? Contact Your Librarian.
Zoom A Librarian is like our virtual office hours--students (or you!) can drop into our Zoom waiting room and you can speak with a KPU Librarian, one-on-one.
We encourage you to let your students know that this service is available to them. Access to Zoom a Librarian is available from the red button on our front page at kpu.ca/library (shown in picture), or on our Ask Us page.
Service for Summer semester begins on May 24, and will be available Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays, 2-6pm (PT).
Visit Zoom a Librarian.
KPU Library has a limited number of laptops available for students to loan for the semester. We also have short-term laptops available for weekly loan.
This service is available to KPU Students who are currently registered for classes. To borrow a laptop, students must place a request using the Laptop Request Form on Student Laptop Loans. This form opened on May 9 for summer semester and are issued on a first-come, first-served basis. Once we have no more laptops to lend, Students will be able to place their name on a waiting list.
Students must have a KPU Card (they need their barcode number to place the request) and current contact information in OSS to place a laptop request.
For detailed information about this program, and for the Laptop Request Form visit Student Laptop Loans.
Continuing our streamlined process from our pandemic procedures, we no longer take your picture and process your KPU card 'on the spot'.
Here's how to get your KPU Card from the library:
We also ask that if you require students to have their KPU card for exams, to let your students know ahead of time, to give them time to apply and pick up their card. The process for students to create their KPU card is the same as outlined above.
Designating library material as a Course Reserve means that we limit the loan period of an item in our collection so it is available to a greater amount of students during the semester. This is often done for items that are part of your course readings or needed for class assignments or for reference. However, Link.Scan.Open provides online, accessible readings to all your students rather than limiting access to one copy of a book. Your students will thank you!
Visit Course Reserves for Faculty to request to place an item on course reserve.
Visit Link.Scan.Open to request a link, PDF (within Fair Dealing), or open resource for class readings.
Get help from librarians when you need it!
Many students prefer chatting with a librarian through AskAway as they can access help at point-of-need: during their researching or while writing/citing assignments online.
If your students need research or citation help, you can refer them to the Library's Ask Us page (where they can choose to chat, email or text us).
Or you can embed our AskAway chat widget right into your Moodle site.
The Library's Open Publishing Suite of services can help you:
We encourage you to let your students know that they have a Liaison Librarian! Liaison Librarians are experts in their subject areas and can help students learn how to research in their area of study and navigate the resources available to them. Students can locate their Liaison Librarian and contact options at Contact Your Librarian.
Your Liaison Librarian also welcomes being contacted by YOU! You can discuss your library instruction needs or even just drop a line to say hello. We want to hear from you!
Have a general question about the library, research, or citations? You or your students can use our virtual chat reference service, AskAway, and get an answer right away! AskAway reopens for summer semester on May 16.
With the B.C. Historical Newspaper Collection, users can now access three historical newspaper archives from the ProQuest Historical Newspapers collection. This collection includes news, editorials, ads and images from the Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), the Times-Colonist (1884-2010) and The Province (1894-2010). Newspapers provide important content and perspectives for unique insights including Indigenous history, local industry news, and regional stories.
Access to this collection is in addition to our existing historical newspaper subscriptions , which includes access to the Vancouver Sun historical archives, which covers the years 1912 to 3 months ago, and the Globe and Mail: ProQuest Historical Newspapers, which covers the years 1844 to three years ago.
To access historical newspaper collections at KPU Library, visit A-Z Databases: Newspaper Articles : Historical
Access to the B.C. Historical Newspaper Collection has been made possible thanks to the British Columbia Electronic Library Network (BC ELN), the BC Libraries Cooperative, and Focused Education Resources.
SAGE Skills: Business is an interactive resource that helps users develop business skills that help students transition from university to the workplace. There are five modules this resource currently covers: Data analytics, entrepreneurship, leadership, organizational communication, and professionalism. There are different types of interactive content, ranging from self-assessments, scenarios, downloadable data, written overviews, and videos.
eHRAF: Archaeology and eHRAF: World Cultures are two eresources that will be of particular interest to those who are conducting research and needing information in anthropology. For those interested in primary ethnologies, World Cultures contains many, and Archaeology features information on the prehistory of the world. There are also extensively-indexed encyclopedia style entries for each culture or group covered, and we were impressed by the level of expertise and knowledge embodied within these products. Take a look!
Contact your liaison librarian to identify resources in our collections that can be accessed by your students for course readings. In addition, some of the licenses can be a bit complicated and we want to ensure you and your students will have access for the semester (see below).
Check out our libguide for more info, ZTC Ready.
Looking for an ebook to use as a textbook? While we try our hardest to provide online access to e-textbooks, there are some barriers that academic libraries face, often from publishers, when trying to provide access to certain texts online. Even if we already have it in our collection, there may be restrictions regarding the number of simultaneous users or the amount of downloads, for example. Please contact Jen Adams, Acquisitions & Collections Assessment Librarian, if you have a question about an ebook you’d like to assign to your course.
KPU Library is pleased to present a new Indigenous space and collection at our Surrey campus library. It is on the ground floor of the library, across from our Research Help Desk.
The collection and space is called χʷəχʷéy̓əm – oral storytelling in the hən̓q̓əmin̓əm̓ language -- and was developed by Rachel Chong, our Indigenous Engagement and Subject Liaison Librarian. The collection features works by Indigenous authors, and χʷəχʷéy̓əm was designed to make Indigenous culture and history accessible. Featured elements include circular shelves, display cabinets for Indigenous art, and seating upholstered in a custom design by Metis artist and Wilson School of Design graduate, Jennifer Lamont.
To read more about this space and its opening, please visit the Today@ post, χʷəχʷéy̓əm opens at KPU Surrey.
Red Dress display at Surrey Campus Library
KPU Library is honoured to announce that a new display by Jennifer Lamont, a Metis artist and Wilson School of Design graduate, is available to view on the ground floor atrium area at Surrey campus library in the Arbutus Building. It was launched on May 5, to mark the National Day of Awareness for Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls.
This display features a red dress that earned Lamont a second place in this years' Our Social Fabric, Upcycled Design Competition. This years' theme was "Awareness" and Lamont says, "I wanted to give awareness to "Missing & Murdered Indigenous Women" [as] this is a topic that doesn't get enough attention, especially in the media."
KPU Library invites the KPU community to view Lamont's design, and to reflect, educate, promote awareness and take action on this important day and topic.
This display will be available to view throughout May and June.
To educate yourself and learn about Murdered and Missing Indigenous Women and Girls, visit our guide on this topic.
Updated Learning Zone Signs at Surrey Campus Library
After four years of temporary signage, KPU Library was pleased to install updated, permanent Learning Zone signage with the help of KPU Marketing and Facilities and funding from the Post-Pandemic Initiatives Fund. The Learning Zones at Surrey Campus Library help users self select the learning environment they wish to study in.
Surrey campus library is a primary hub for students to study, gather and collaborate. Student space at the library spans three floors, and there are a diverse set of needs and expectations from our students. Some need to collaborate with their peers, some need a quiet place to study. With more students returning to campus, we recognized the need to prioritize our students' needs and use of space. The goal of this project was to improve student experience and use of library space by visually establishing zones and optimizing the space. We've simplified the zones, extending them to encompass each of our three floors. Providing official and clear structure for appropriate levels of noise and interaction allows our users to self-select and self-regulate their behavior. The result is a shared, harmonious space that reflects the diverse needs and expectations of students.
The signs for our Learning Zones features an eagle design by KPU graduate Roxanne Charles of Semiahmoo First Nation.