Skip to Main Content

Generative Artificial Intelligence

This guide provides documentation about generative artificial intelligence.

​Disclaimer: 

Kwantlen Polytechnic University (KPU) is enhancing access to generative artificial intelligence (GenAI) tools by integrating approved AI technology. This guide aims to inform students, researchers, and faculty about additional GenAI tools to broaden their understanding of the multifaceted AI landscape.

AI Tools for Research, Text, Search, Images, Design, & Presentations

Disclaimer: AI-powered research assistants can be helpful tools for understanding and organizing information, but they should not replace critical thinking or independent research. Always verify sources, think critically about the content, and consult original materials

  • Elicit - can locate relevant papers even without an exact keyword match and summarize the key takeaways related to your question.
  • Copilot - it can help with writing drafts, summarizing texts, creating images, and coding. It can also help look up information online, learn new languages or translate between them. Plus, it can assist with automating simple tasks and analyzing data.
  • Gemini - Google Gemini is a group of AI models, similar to OpenAI’s GPT. These models are multimodal, which means they don’t just understand and create text — they can also work with other types of content like images, audio, videos, and even code, all at the same time.
  • Quillbot - is an AI writing tool that helps rephrase sentences, fix grammar, summarize text, generate citations, and check for plagiarism. 
  • Research Rabbit - can help with finding and organizing academic papers. It lets one explore related studies, build collections, track new research, and visualize how papers are connected.
  • Scholarcy - is an AI tool that quickly summarizes academic papers, book chapters, and reports. It highlights key points, explains complex terms, and creates flashcards from the content. 
  • Scispace - can help one read, understand, and explain academic papers. One can upload a paper or link to one, and it breaks down complex concepts, defines terms, and answers questions about the content. 
  • scite.ai -can help find and evaluate academic papers. Unlike regular citation tools, it shows how a paper is cited—whether other papers support, mention, or even contradict it. 
  • You Tube Summary with ChatGPT and Claude

The GenAI landscape is rapidly changing. See below for a database for up-to-date tools.

Always Up-To-Date AI Tools Database - Searchable list of AI tools. 
Futurepedia - a comprehensive directory of AI tools in a variety of categories such as productivity, text generation, image, video, business, etc.

Video tutorials:

 

Additional resources:

  • Canva - allows one to create a wide range of visual content, such as posters, presentations, social media posts, and more. It provides templates, images, fonts, and drag-and-drop features,
  • GPT-4o’s multimodal model
  • DALL-E - it can generate images from textual descriptions. 
  • Imagebind by Meta AI - can process and integrate data from six different sources: images, text, audio, depth images, thermal images, and inertial measurement units (IMU)
  • Jasper -  offer features like background replacement, background removal, image upscaling, and image reimagining. Additionally, Jasper provides AI Art templates for various styles, including food photography, ink art, and product close-ups, 
  • Midjourney - create and explore image, video and audio
  • Night Cafe - ​integrates various AI models, such as Stable Diffusion, DALL-E 2, VQGAN+CLIP, and Neural Style Transfer, enabling the creation of diverse artistic styles and outputs.

* Multimodal image generators have improved immensely - look up some examples: Visual recipes, homepages, textures for video games, illustrated poems, unhinged monologues, photo improvements, and visual adventure games, to name just a few. Multimodality mirrors the way humans naturally understand the world by combining sensory inputs like sight, sound, and touch to create a richer perception of reality. By incorporating different types of data into one model, multimodal AI systems can gain a deeper and more complete understanding of their surroundings. Multimodal systems are transforming visual creation, providing new capabilities while also raising important questions about creative ownership and authenticity.

  • Canva Magic Media - create images and videos from descriptions, or turn generated images into videos.
  • Colormind IO - is a color scheme generator that uses deep learning. It can learn color styles from photographs, movies, and popular art.
  • Designs.AI - content creation with cutting-edge generative AI. Good for designing visuals and social media posts
  • Khroma - color tool designed for designers and creatives. By selecting your favorite colors, Khroma's algorithm learns your preferences to generate personalized color palettes.
  • Looka - good for designing logos and brands.
  • Runway - is an AI-powered platform for creators that offers tools for video editing, image generation, and more.

Presentations

Text

  • ChatGPT - apparently can understand and generate text. It’s like having a conversation with a computer that can help with a variety of tasks, such as answering questions, explaining concepts, and even coding. 
  • Claude.ai - It’s designed to assist with tasks like answering questions, writing text, and problem-solving
  • Jasper - can help with all things marketing
  • Jenni Ai Writing Tool - can help one to read, write and organize research.
  • Consensus - Academic search engine. The current source material used in Consensus comes from the Semantic Scholar database
  • MediSearch - science-based answers to medical questions
  • Perplexity - is an AI-powered search engine that provides answers to queries by pulling information from a variety of sources, including the web. It aims to offer more conversational and direct answers, often with citations, to support the information it provides. It can be used to quickly retrieve accurate, well-sourced information across various topics.
  • phind - it can be used to search for answers in real-time, offering a more conversational and informative experience compared to traditional search engines. It may also include citations and source links to back up the information provided.