LibGuides: Entertainment Arts: Animation + Visual Effects

animation image by @danpetrov from Unsplash

Online Resources

An animation industry site with articles, forums, resource links, and more.

A place built and contributed to by the animation community and allows ease of access to useful assets and resources such as links to forums, communities, competitions, rigs, tools and places to submit work.

Big Cartoon Database

Large compilation of animated film information -Find information on TV series episode guides, cast and crew information, and animated film lists with online pictures and videos.

Cartoon Brew

A comprehensive animation news site.

Free Sound

A collaborative database of audio samples that are free to use and remix.

Streaming Media

Internet Archive: Animation and Cartoons

A collection of freely available animated films, from classic cartoons to computer animation and beyond.

Videoart.net: Animation

The animation collection of Videoart, an international network for video artists and experimental filmmakers.

VIMEO Animation

Vimeo is a popular platform for animators to share and discover work - Find animation craft, style, and character design videos.

Streaming Videos from KPU:

Criterion on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming feature films.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window Streaming video, films, and audio content from CBC and Radio-Canada in both French and English. Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Academic, career, and technical streaming videos. KPU's largest streaming video subscription. Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Instructors can request purchases of individual videos by sending an email to the library here. While the Library would like to support the all-access, demand-driven acquisition model that would make all Kanopy films available, it is not financially sustainable at this time. To find the videos purchased to date, please search the library catalogue for "Kanopy streaming video."
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
National Film Board This link opens in a new window Streaming videos from Canada's National Film Board (NFB). Please use Google Chrome when playing videos on campus. When using PCs in e-classrooms, videos should be accessible through Internet Explorer.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Journals + Magazines

Animation

VFX

Find out if Kwantlen Library subscribes to a particular journal - enter your title in the blank below.

Key Databases

Library databases are online resources you can search to find reliable information from trusted sources. Find journal articles that touch on topics such as: animations & animated films, culture explorations, animation techniques & tools, and more.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas. The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window Ebooks providing comprehensive global coverage of the history, theory and practice of crafts and design, from prehistoric times to the present day.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

KPU Library

Entertainment Arts

New in Animation + Visual Effects

Browse The Shelves

Librarian

Online Resources

Streaming Media

Journals + Magazines

Key Databases