LibGuides: Fashion (FASN): Find Journals and Articles

Find Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Our Research database page offers you access to over 100 databases.

These databases are useful for FASN and related research:

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Online fashion related content including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, ebooks, and images.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Pages, advertisements, covers, and fold-outs are included.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Authoritative encyclopedia articles on all aspects of art. Please disregard the prompt to sign in. Just enter terms in the search bar to continue searching.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular articles for all business disciplines.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
American and Canadian market research industry reports.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Includes internationally standardized statistics and data; analysis of lifestyle, population, and socioeconomic factors worldwide; historical and forecast data; and market share, market size, and market environment data.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. It contains statistics, reports on industries, markets, surveys, toplists, and infographics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
The interface for this and all our other EBSCO databases will change mid-2025. Click here to try out the new interface early!
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
CBCA Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary scholarly and popular articles from Canadian journals and magazines.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles from all subject areas.
Most journals have extensive past coverage with access to current articles typically delayed 3-5 years post publication.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?

The Where Can I Get This link lets you know if the full-text of the article is available:

Online through another library database.
In print at the Library
via interlibrary loan .

Make sure to look for the Where Can I Get This on the database page!

Find out more about Interlibrary Loans!

The Library has access to many journals through the various research databases. The following lists SOME of the journals that you will find in the library. You can find these journals at the front of the Richmond library.

Apparel, print

Canadian Apparel Insights, print (last two years & current)

Costume: The Journal of the Costume Society, print (2013-2017) & online (1965-2016)

Drapers, The Fashion Business weekly, last five years in print, online access

Dress, print & online

Elle Canada, last five years in print

Fashion Practice, online

Fashion Theory, print (2000 - 2017) & online

Selvedge, print (last ten years & current), website, includes blog and craft projects

Textile: The Journal of Cloth and Culture, online

Threads, print (last 5 years)

Vogue, print & online

Vogue Archive

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Images from all areas of art.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Check the Images -- How to Find, Use and Cite guide for information on how to find images on the internet and copyright implications

When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly" or "refereed" while magazine articles are usually considered "popular" or "sensational". Always know which type is acceptable for your research.

	Refereed or Scholarly Journal	Trade Publication	Popular Magazine
Format	Has serious format	Attractive in appearance	Generally glossy & attractive format
Graphics	Graphs and charts to illustrate concepts	Photos, graphics and illustrations used to enhance articles	Photos, illustrations and drawing to enhance image of publication
Sources	Cited sources with footnotes and/or bibliography	Occasionally cite sources, but not as a rule	Rarely cite sources. Original sources may be obscure
Authors	Written by scholars or researchers in the field or discipline	Written by professionals or experts in the field	Written by the staff or free-lance writers for a broad audience
Language	Uses terminology, jargon, and the language of the discipline. Reader is assumed to have similar background	Uses language appropriate for an educated readership	Uses simple language for minimal educational level. Articles are short, with little depth
Purpose	To inform, report, or make original research available to the scholarly world	Report on trends in specific industry, business or organization; give practical advice	Designed to entertain or persuade, to sell products or services
Publishers	Generally published by a professional organization	Published by commercial enterprises for profit	Published for profit
Advertising	Contains selective advertising	Carries advertising, mostly trade related	Contains extensive advertising

You can access our research databases from home if you are a Kwantlen student or employee.

Here is the login information you will need to use to access these online resources:
- Students:
  username = student number
  password = same password used to register for classes online
- Employees:
  username = assigned short name that you use to login to office computer
  password = same password used to login to office computers or access HR self services
You must have 'Cookies' enabled on your browser. This will ensure that the system will recognize you after you enter your barcode just once despite how many databases you use during your browser session.

KPU Library

Fashion (FASN)

Find Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles