Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fashion (FASN)

Find Books/ebooks

Search for ebooks in:

  • Library Catalogue - search by title or topic
  • Summon Search - search by title or topic and narrow to book/ebook under Content on the left
  • Directly through the ebook databases listed below.

Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for.

You can also search by author name, book title or subject heading.

OR

Try entering the following subject headings (or simply click on the link):

Search tips

Use the Advanced Search screen

Combine terms to be more precise using the 'AND' command
e.g. clothing AND smart materials AND Canada

Find synoyms using the 'OR' command
e.g. international OR global

Use single quote marks to match multiple words exactly
e.g. 'protective clothing' (Note: Summon using double quotes)

Use shortcuts to find words with different spellings:
e.g. correction$ will find correction, corrections, and correctional (but not corrective)

Find the library subject terms for your topic
e.g. if you browse by SUBJECT for the keyword Taser (which is a brand name) you'll see that libraries use the term stun guns instead

Call numbers help you locate items in the library. You will always find related books shelved together so understanding call numbers can help you find many resources on the shelves.

Still confused about call numbers? See our  Call Numbers Demystified Guide!

Call number ranges to get you started:

  • N: Art
  • TT 490-695: Clothing Trade
  • GT 530-560: Costume History to 500
  • GT 575: Costume History Medieval 500-1500
  • GT 583-596: Costume History 16-20 century
  • GT 500-2370 and TT 490-695: Fashion
  • TT 490-695: Clothing Trade
  • TT 500-678: Garment cutting
  • TS 1300-1782: Textile industries
2300-2430

Encyclopedias are a great way to get an overview of your topic.

Encyclopedias like The World BookEncyclopedia Britannica, and Wikipedia cover a vast array of subjects while others, like the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, focus on a particular subject.

Although your instructor may not want you to quote or cite an encyclopedia article they are useful for getting an overview on a topic. Entries often contain references or bibliographies that may lead you to other sources of information. 

Dictionaries are handy to check definitions and spelling. Specialized dictionaries include the Fairchild dictionary of fashion, Dictionary of Fashion History and Historical Dictionary of the Fashion Industry.

The library provides access to encyclopedias and dictionaries in print and electronic formats. You will need to come into the library for the printed books. Some online resources, like Wikipedia, are freely available on the web while other subscription-based resources, like the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, may require you to input your user name and password.

The library catalogue lists both scholarly and popular books.

To help you determine if a book is a "scholarly" title, use the following list to help you decide:

Who is the author?

  • holds an advanced degree in the subject covered by the book?
  • professional or researcher in the field?
  • is the author affiliated with a university / professional organization?

Purpose?

  • original research
  • literature review
  • advances research in discipline

Cited Sources?

  • bibliography / extensive notes
  • cites other scholarly sources
  • has an index

Publisher?

  • university press
  • scholarly publisher

Language?

  • uses terminology of the discipline
  • is written for other scholars / students

E-book Collections

Design Collections:

Interdisciplinary Collections:

Reference (Background Information) Collections: