- Borrowing
Accent on Canadian English : a pronunciation program for speakers of English as a second language
by
Clear Speech: pronunciation and listening comprehension in North American English : student's book
by
Pronunciation and Listening Comprehension in North American English. This is a revised and expanded version of the highly successful and innovative pronunciation text for intermediate to high-intermediate students of North American English. The Clear Speech, Third Edition, Student's Book provides learners with visual representations of important pronunciation features, such as voicing and syllable length. It features a reordered table of contents, a greater emphasis on listening recognition, and more coverage of vowel sounds. It also contains a Student Audio CD, so students can practice many of the exercises on their own.
Perfecting Your English Pronunciation
by
Reduce your accent when pronouncing English, with the expertise from an acclaimed specialist in the area Developed by acclaimed speech consultant and accent specialist Susan Cameron, Perfecting Your English Pronunciation features her successful method, which focuses on the anatomical placement of sound and on the musculature used in articulation. Where other accent reduction/English pronunciation products rely on solely mimicking of audio sounds, this work focuses visually, audibly, and narratively on the physical ability to speak English, noting that many sounds of English may be difficult for you because some tongue positions used in English may not be used in your native language. The 45-minute DVD introduces you to mouth and jaw exercises to prepare you for English, then demonstrates mouth formations and tongue placement using other nonnative speakers like you. You will see and hear how English sounds--enabling you to become more and more comfortable conversing with native English speakers as you go through the program.
The following are free novels to read or listen to (or read along to).
ESL Bits: Read full text novels or listen to a recording of the text.
National Geographic Learning - Interactive Reading Practice: The readings are followed by interactive comprehension activities, a recording of the text to listen to, a supplementary grammar and vocabulary practice worksheet based on the text, and links to National Geographic images and videos for users to explore the topics further.
TalkEnglish Listening Practice - Listen closely to hear the answer to prompted questions from the audio file. To view the passage, click on "Show Conversation Dialog."
ESL Lab
Daily News Podcasts (Beginner to Advanced Levels)
Songs For English Language Learning - Listen to articles and novels, see the ESL Reading page
You can listen to magazine articles in EBSCO databases.
View the instructions on how to access the text-to-speech feature.
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
Essays presenting multiple viewpoints on current issues.
Basic encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas.
A multi-disciplinary database with full text of magazines, an image collection, and some reference books.
-ed Pronunciation /id/ /d/ /t/ (Beginner to Intermediate Levels): The pronunciation of words ending in -ed depends on the final consonant sound. This is an interactive practice. Click on “Learn, Practice, Videos, Story and Test.”
Minimal Pairs Vowel & Consonant Sounds (Beginner to Advanced Levels): Two words that vary by only a single sound. For example: 'b' vs. 'v'; 'berry' vs. 'very'; 'i' vs. 'I'; 'sit' vs. 'seat'
Interactive Phonetic Chart (Beginner to Advanced Levels): This is a clickable chart, and it represents 44 sounds.
Phonetic Poster (Beginner to Intermediate Levels): You can keep this pdf poster on your desktop or print a copy for quick practice.
Phonetic Vowel Sounds (Intermediate Levels): Example: long 'i' vs. short 'I'.
Phonetic Consonants (Intermediate Levels)
Phonetic Transcription Exercises (Advanced Levels)
Sounds of English - pronunciation help, lessons & activities
ESL Cyber Listening Lab - easy to difficult
Perfect Pronunciation - Merriam-Webster Learner's Dictionary
Talk English.com - Pronunciation
