LibGuides: English Language Studies: Find Books

Summon Search tips

Find Books

Search our Library Catalogue for books, eBooks & films

The argument handbook
The Argument Handbookis a reference tool and classroom text designed to help students understand complex rhetorical situations and navigate the process of transforming private thoughts into persuasive, public statements. The book is organized around three lenses that help students focus on the practical challenges of persuasive writing.
Doing academic research : A practical guide to research methods and analysis
Rather than a book about research, this is a practical guide to doing research. It guides budding researchers along the process of developing an effective workflow, where to go for help, and how to actually complete the project. The book addresses diversity in abilities, interest, discipline, and ways of knowing by focusing not just on the process of conducting any one method in detail, but also on the ways in which someone might choose a research method and conduct it successfully.
Doing honest work in college : How to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success
Doing Honest Work in College stands on three principles: do the work you say you do, give others credit, and present your research fairly. These are straightforward concepts, but the abundance of questionable online sources and temptation of a quick copy-paste can cause confusion as to what's considered citing and what's considered cheating.
How to write better essays
This indispensable guide takes students through each step of the essay writing process, enabling them to tackle written assignments with confidence. Students will develop their ability to analyse complex concepts, evaluate and critically engage with arguments, communicate their ideas clearly and concisely and generate more ideas of their own.

Can't find the book at Kwantlen? You can submit an Interlibrary Loan (note that books can take up to 10 days to arrive).

Search Summon for eBooks only

Call numbers help you locate items in the library. You will always find related books shelved together so understanding call numbers can help you find many resources on the shelves.

Still confused about call numbers? Our guide may help!

Call number ranges

LB 2369 : Report Writing / Essay Writing

2300-2430

PE 1115 : Business English

PE 1122 : College Readers

PE 1126 : Readers for New Literates

PE1128 : English as a Second Language: Grammar, Pronunciation, Language Tests

PE 1628 - 3235 : Dictionaries & Thesauri

Who is the author?

holds an advanced degree in the subject covered by the book?
professional or researcher in the field?
is the author affiliated with a university / professional organization?

Purpose?

original research
literature review
advances research in discipline

Cited Sources?

bibliography / extensive notes
cites other scholarly sources
has an index

Publisher?

university press
scholarly publisher

Language?

uses terminology of the discipline
is written for other scholars / students

Online Dictionaries & Thesauri

Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Collins English Dictionary
Directory of Bilingual & Multilingual Dictionaries
The European Language Social Science Thesaurus (ELSST)
The European Language Social Science Thesaurus (ELSST) is a broad-based, multilingual thesaurus for the social sciences.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The OED is the largest and most authoritative English language dictionary.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

Online Encyclopedias

The Canadian Encyclopedia

Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Basic encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.
KnowBC This link opens in a new window
An encyclopedia providing an array of information, maps, graphics and historical sources for B.C. and its history.
Off campus access restricted to current KPU students and employees.

KPU Library

English Language Studies

Summon Search tips

Find Books