- Borrowing
Often a picture is worth a thousand words! ARTstor is an enormous image database containing representations of historical figures and places, posters, and objects. Here's an example of a wartime poster from ARTstor:
Our Research database page offers you access to over 200 databases.
But to start your research, we recommend:
American periodicals that document the time period 1691 to 1912. Daily life, society, industry, science, government, and many other topics can be explored through this collection. There is also substantial coverage of the Revolutionary and Civil Wars.
Large, multidisciplinary article database that is a good starting point for research in many areas.
For help in learning how to search JSTOR efficiently, see this useful guide.
Scholarly and popular articles on a wide variety of topics of interest to military and government.
Not sure if a journal article is scholarly / academic?
Have a look at these links:
Watch the following two videos for more information.
Find out if KPU Library subscribes to a particular journal (print, online or on microform) by searching the Journal Titles database.
Some of the more important journals in history are: The American Historical Review, The Canadian Historical Review, and The English Historical Review.
The Emergent Historian - a journal produced by the Kwantlen Polytechnic University Department of History. Its annual publication provides a chance to showcase the very best of our students’ work from the previous academic year.
Major Canadian newspapers as well as many small-market newspapers.
