CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties) was created by the Canadian Pharmacists Association and includes detailed information on commonly prescribed drugs and over the counter medication in Canada.
You will also find information about conditions commonly treated with drugs, as well as drug interaction and identification tools, among other resources.
Please note: the video calls the database RxTx. Though the database name has recently changed, the search and other features in the video remain the same.
This video assumes you've watched the Basic Search video, and focuses on:
Because the information in the CPS database is only available in that database and has information that changes over time you need to include a retrieval date and cite it as an article from a database. There are no DOIs or unique URLs associated with articles in this database, so the URL at the end is the database homepage.
Reference Format: Author. (year, Month date). Title of the entry. Database Name. Retrieved Month date, year from URL of the database homepage
Reference Example: Canadian Pharmacists Association. (2020, May 5). Viagra. CPS database. Retrieved February 8, 2024, from https://cps.pharmacists.ca
In Text Citation Example: (Canadian Pharmacists Association, 2020).
The Library also carries both print & ebook versions of Mosby's Canadian Nursing Drug Reference
See more options below for other nursing related drug books in the Library collection.
From our Ask Us page you can:
Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.