Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News For Instructors

Open Publishing Suite

Introducing Open Publishing Suite (OPuS)

Among other features, Open Textbooks are resources that are freely available to students and open to instructors to use, adapt, and share. Open Textbooks are one type of Open Educational Resources (OER) and many are developed and vetted by experts. 

The library has a new suite of services and tools we collectively refer to as the Open Publishing Suite (OPuS). OPuS offers support to KPU instructors create or adapt open resources. With our help, you can:

  • Develop accessible open textbooks
  • Publish your own Open Journal (great for departmental journals or even student led projects!)
  • Embed library resources and open content into Moodle
  • Find open textbooks to use in your classroom
  • Submit work to KORA or search it for scholarly works by KPU authors 

If you have questions, want to know more, or just want to have a chat about the possibilities of OPuS, we encourage you to visit the OPuS website, contact the Library or contact the Open Ed office

New resources

New Research Resources

This past fall, we've added two new databases to support you and your students' information needs. The American Antiquarian Society Periodical Collection features American magazines and journals from 1691 to 1912. Users can find information on topics such as daily life, society, industry, science and government, and the collection has substantial coverage of the Revolutionary and Civil Wars.

Anatomy.tv is a robust new database that gives KPU users access to 3D images and layered models related to anatomy and physiology. Users can access material such as x-rays, interactive anatomy models, and even therapy specific guides related to acupuncture and massage. It can be used to help inform teaching materials, to gain in depth understanding in anatomy, and as a reference tool in research. Check it out!

The Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN), of which we are a partner, has recently made 60 million pages of digitized Canadian documentary heritage freely available. On January 1st, the Canadiana collections--the largest collection of Canadian-related textual documentation online--were made available to all, the result of a partnership between 75 Canadian universities, CRKN, and Canadiana.org. The collections feature archival material, periodicals, newspapers, and government publications, and more. 

One of the perks of our new library catalogue is easy access to new book lists by subject! If you navigate to our library catalogue by visiting kpu.ca/library, selecting 'Catalogue' from the main search bar and selecting 'Catalogue Home', you'll see a block of links by discipline under 'New Arrivals'. By selecting your subject area you'll see a list of most recently added titles! It is a great way to keep on top of new acquisitions in your field of study. Here is a picture of where to look:
screenshot of library catalogue

Research Parties

Encourage your students to attend a Research Party!

​Last semester we piloted a new program called a 'Research Party'.  It's an open session for students to work on their final writing assignments with a Librarian and a Learning Centre Tutor on hand. Students can ask many questions or ask none! Research parties are meant to provide a supportive environment for students to get motivated to work on their assignments and get help on research, writing and citations. We welcome all levels and all questions, from first years embarking on their first final paper, to fourth years doing in-depth research. Please help spread the word! And, due to feedback, we'll be adding a session at Langley library this semester. To find out more and to reserve a space, you can direct students to visit Research Party!.  

Helpful library links

Plan your semester with these helpful library links 

Need library resources for your class this term? These links should help you navigate your needs. 

Book a Library Instruction session

Help set up your students for success! You can contact the library to arrange for an instruction session to take place during your class time. We offer many different types of information literacy instruction including research methods for scholarly/peer reviewed journal articles, evaluating the difference between popular and scholarly online sources, and information on plagiarism and citation methods. Visit Library Orientation Request and submit the form. We'll get back to you shortly!

 

Embed Library Resources in your Moodle Site

Did you know you can have any library subject guide embedded into moodle? If you want to direct students to subject specific resources, or library resources on subjects such as  academic integrity, citation styles, or popular vs. academic sources, contact your Liaison Librarian or Ask A Librarian and we'll take care of the rest!

Course Reserves

Do you have extra copies of your course text or want a copy available to your students? Place your textbook on course reserve at the library so your students can access it. We have various loan periods that can be applied to the loan, including 2 hours, 1 day, 2 weeks, and more.

For more information, read Placing Materials on Course Reserve (PDF) or visit Course Reserves.

Aren't those just for books?

DVDs, articles, and book chapters can all be put on course reserve. We can also place any items that are copyright cleared on e-reserve, like sample exams.

Reserve Equipment 

Need to book equipment for your classes or reserve a film? Our website will guide you through the request process and includes contact information if you need assistance.

What type of equipment does the library have?

Find a list, with photos and descriptions, of all the items available through our Equipment Services

Equipment circulation support

Tired of the hassle of tracking which student borrowed your department equipment?  Let the library do it for you!  We’re experts at loaning equipment and helping students manage their loans. 

For example, the library has helped physics instructors circulate their set of IOLab devices--handheld, data-gathering instruments used to conduct experiments.  Instructors arranged the terms with us beforehand, told their students to come to the library to borrow, and we kept track of the devices! 

Interested in having us help manage your equipment loans to students?  Contact Ruth Mullane or Debbie Smith.

Give us feedback and contact us

Librarians and library employees are happy to assist you with your library and information needs. Don't know where to start? Want to know what resources are available for your subject area? Visit Ask a Librarian to contact us or view librarian reference hours.  

Tell us what you think!  We are always open to feedback on ways we can improve your experience at the library as well as your student's.

Follow us @kpulibrary and keep up-to-date on the library.