Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychiatric Nursing

Use Summon to find Journal Articles

Summon Search

You can use Summon (search box below) to search most of the Library's collection at once, including journal articles.

In case you missed it on the landing page of this guide, this video will give you a quick how-to intro to Summon.

If you aren't finding what you need, you'll find more information below for other journal article search strategies and resources.

 

 

Struggling to read that academic/scholarly journal article? Peer-reviewed articles are written by scholars and researchers, to be read by other scholars and researchers in the field. If you aren't used to reading these kinds of articles, sometimes the language and experiment details can be difficult to read. This video will give you some tips, so you don't waste time trying to read through a difficult article that won't be of use to your assignment.

Article Databases and Search Tools By Topic

CINAHL (linked below) is a nursing and allied heath database. You will likely find any research or journal articles on your topic related to nursing in this database.

Click on the tabs above to find other Health related databases which may also have articles of interest.

Find more Grey Literature resources in the Evidence-Based Documents area on the Websites page of this Guide.

Database Searching: Demonstration Videos

Should I use this article for my assignment?

This video will give you a quick overview of what peer-reviewed articles are.

Click on the purple check marks embedded throughout this article to review the characteristics of a peer-reviewed original research article.

Systematic reviews are among the highest quality information sources available in medicine and health publications.

These analysis are a comprehensive review and analysis of past research in a very specific area of study (usually rigidly defined by researchers along PICO dimensions).

There is a subset within systematic reviews called meta-analyses that are considered even more compelling as an evidence-based information source, as it not only reviews the research but analyses the data obtained from past research.

More information on Levels of Evidence, as well as the Pyramid of Evidence to the right, can be found in:

Louw, G. (2009). Evidence Based practice. In F. Wilson, & M. Mabhala (Eds.), Key concepts in public health. London, UK: Sage UK.

You may also want to consult the description of systematic reviews in:

Holly, C. (2017). Systematic review. In J. Fitzpatrick (Ed.), Encyclopedia of nursing research (4th ed.). New York, NY: Springer Publishing Company. 

These reference are from the Library's CREDO subscription database, so you will need to enter your KPU login when clicking on the links off campus.

Library Databases

Using LWW Online (this database includes our largest repository of Systematic Reviews - both Cochrane & JBI), click on the Limit option under the search box and select Review Articles

Using CINAHL, select Meta Analysis and/or Systematic Review from the Publication Type menu on the landing page (use the CTRL button on the keyboard to select both from the menu)

Using Medline, select Systematic Reviews from the Publication Type menu on the landing page

Using PubMed, under the Article Types filter in the left-hand column of your search results, select Systematic Reviews and/or Meta-Analysis

Using PsycINFO, select Systematic Reviews from the Methodology menu on the landing page

Search Tools

Note: because these are not databases, there is no Systematic Reviews filter, so you are likely only going to find items where systematic review occurs in the title of article

Using Summon (the big box on the library homepage), include "systematic review" in your search

Using Google Scholar, include "systematic review" in your search

Find Specific Journals & Tips on How to Read Scholarly Articles

If you are looking for a particular journal, it is easy to find out if the Library has it - enter the Journal title in the blank below.

Not sure how to get to, and search, the full text? Watch the video below.

 

Struggling to read that academic/scholarly journal article? Peer-reviewed articles are written by scholars and researchers, to be read by other scholars and researchers in the field. If you aren't used to reading these kinds of articles, sometimes the language and experiment details can be difficult to read. This video will give you some tips, so you don't waste time trying to read through a difficult article that won't be of use to your assignment.

How to cite Articles using the APA citation style

  • Journal article usually use the year as the date; magazine articles may use month/season and year
  • For articles in press, say (in press); for advance online publications, see the Zavras example below
  • The title of the article is in regular script and sentence case; the title of the journal of magazine is in italics and all words are capitalized except a, an, the, of, on, etc. 
  • Put the issue number in () right after the volume number WITHOUT a space in between. The volume number is italicized, the issue number is not. If this information is missing, omit it
  • If the article has an article number or eLocator, use this in place of the page numbers; write the word Article in front of it
  • Always include the DOI if available (print AND online articles); if there is no DOI, include the URL for articles from an open website, but treat an article from a database that has NO DOI like a print article. Generally, do NOT include the database name; for exceptions, see 9.30 of the manual. 
  • ABOUT THE DOI: the current preferred format for ALL DOI hyperlinks uses https://doi.org/ as the prefix. Older works may use previous formats (e.g., “http:/dx.doi.org/” or “doi:” or “DOI:” before the DOI number). Standardize all your DOI hyperlinks into the current preferred format in your reference list.

Author last name, A. A. (Date). Title of article. Title of Journal or Magazine, Vol#(Issue#), Page# from-to.

Author last name, A. A. (Date). Title of article. Title of Journal or Magazine, Vol#(Issue#), Page# from-to. https://doi.org/xxxx OR https://xxxx 

Frideres, J. (2008). Aboriginal identity in the Canadian context. The Canadian Journal of Native Studies, 28(2), 313-342.

Frideres, J. (2008). Aboriginal identity in the Canadian context. The Canadian Journal of Native Studies, 28(2), 313-342. http://www3.brandonu.ca/cjns/28.2/05Frideres.pdf

Frideres, J., & Dalhouse, M. (1996). Intergenerational congruency: The role of the family in the political attitudes of youth. Journal of Family Issues, 17(2), 227-248. https://doi.org/10.1177/019251396017002005

Zanatto, D., Patacchiola, M., Goslin, J., & Cangelosi, A. (2019). Investigating cooperation with robotic peers. PLOS ONE, 14(11), Article e0225028https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0225028

Zavras, D. (2019). Testing the dual-state-process assumption in the preventive care services use. Journal of Health and Social Sciences. Advance online publicationhttps://doi.org/10.19204/2019/tstn4

Greenbaum, Z. (2019December). Countering stereotypes about Asian Americans. Monitor on Psychology, 50(11), 26-30.

Greenbaum, Z. (2019, December). Countering stereotypes about Asian Americans. Monitor on Psychology, 50(11), 26-30. https://www.apa.org/monitor/2019/2019-12-monitor.pdf 

 

In text citation: ... (Frideres, 2008) ... (Frideres & Dalhouse, 1996) ... (Zanatto et al., 2019) ... (Zavras, 2019) ... (Greenbaum, 2019)

Note: if quoting also include a page number or other locator

  • If there is no author, move the title in the author position
  • Give the exact date of publication
  • The title of the article is in regular script and sentence case; the title of the newspaper is in italics and all words are capitalized except a, an, the, of, on, etc. 

Penner, D. (2019, December 3). First Nation solar farm a model for B.C.'s future. The Vancouver Sun, A1.

Penner, D. (2019, December 3). Fortune beams on Tsilhqot'in solar-power project on remote Chilcotin plateau. The Vancouver Sun. https://vancouversun.com/business/energy/fortune-beams-on-tsilhqotin-solar-power-project-on-remote-chilcotin-plateau  

Chelsey. (2019, November 5). No bake mocha tart. Like a Veganhttp://likeavegan.com.au/2019/11/no-bake-mocha-tart/

 

  • Articles published in an online news source (e.g. BBC News, CBC News, CNN, MSNBC, Reuters, Vox, etc.) don't have a print equivalent and therefore are treated like webpages. See example here

  • To the basic periodical citation add [Review of the book Title, by A. A. Author or Editor] for a book review, [Review of the film Film title, by A. A. Director, Dir.], etc. 

Cooper, L. F. (2011). A world without great-power war [Review of the book Dangerous time? The international politics of great power peace, by C. J. Fettweis]. International Studies Review, 13(4), 684-686. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1468-2486.2011.01068.x

Grynbaum, M. M. (2019, December 3). If Nietzsche were in highschool [Review of the book Nietzsche and the burbs, by L. Iyer]. The New York Times. https://nyti.ms/2OJV2s0  

 

In text citation: ... (Cooper, 2011) ... (Grynbaum, 2019) 

Note: if quoting also include a page number or other locator

Get Research Help From A Librarian

Go to our Ask a Librarian page to

  • Email a Librarian
  • Text a Librarian
  • Chat with a Librarian

Librarians are monitoring the queues above throughout the day and will respond to you as soon as possible.