Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Nurse Internationally Educated

Graduate nurses who have been internationally educated are prepared, at KPU, for success practicing as nurses in Canada.

Best Best: Cinahl

Cinahl is a large nursing database with some content from allied health areas.

If you've never searched the database before, you may want to watch this Cinahl search video.

The Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lesson content in the top menu bar are other resources that may be of interest.

Find links to more nursing/health/medical databases and resources on the other tabs of this box.

Search Cinahl Complete now

Below are Library database best bets for evidence based medicine (EBM) content.

Also find open web (free) evidence based medicine search tools on the next tab above and on the websites page of this guide.

Best Best: PubMed

Pubmed includes over 30 million citations to biomedical literature, with links to full-text for items that are freely available.

You have the option of limiting results to nursing journals, which is very useful in such a large database.

There are also options to limit results to meta-analyses and systematic reviews.

Even if you've search PubMed before, you may want to watch this video of search tips for nursing students.

Find more evidence based search tools below.

Like PubMed, these tools are freely available on the open web (you don't need a kpu login).

If you find an article that is not available full text:

  • Search the title of the article in the Library 's Summon search box
  • If it isn't available there, place an interlibrary loan - we can usually email the article to you in a few days

Find more evidence based medicine information resources on the websites page of this guide as well.

Not sure how to turn your question into a search strategy?

This 3 minute video from Bodleian Library reviews PICO and demonstrates how to turn those PICO elements from a research question into search terms.

After that video ends, another 3 minute video will start which covers how to turn those PICO search terms into a search strategy you can use in the databases and search tools highlighted on the other tabs of this box

Prefer print to video? Check out the links below.

Need something more in-depth?

These great evidence based practice tutorials will review EBP concepts and include PICO formulation practice exercises.

Not finding what you need?   

From our Ask Us page you can:

  • Email a Librarian
  • Text a Librarian
  • Chat with a Librarian
  • Book a Virtual Appointment with a Librarian
  • Phone the Library

Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.

Go to the Ask Us page

In a database you can often filter results to "peer reviewed" or "scholarly", but maybe the search tool you are using doesn't have that option; or maybe Google Scholar is telling you it is scholarly, but you aren't sure...

Click on the purple question marks embedded throughout this article to review the characteristics of a peer-reviewed original research article.

Nursing guidelines are built upon evidence based practice, and this evidence generally comes from peer-reviewed research articles.

This kind of research article is among the most reliable sources of information you can find. And the most rigorous among these are systematic reviews and meta-analyses which comprehensively review and summarize all past articles published on a particular area of research.

Peer-reviewed articles are also how researchers communicate their findings, and verify, disproof or build upon the research of others.

This video will give you a quick introduction to the peer-reviewed process.

Journal Title Search

Use the search box below to find any specific journal, magazine or newspaper the Library carries, either online or in print.

Never searched for a journal before? Watch this video.

Need a journal that isn't in our collection? If you are looking for a particular article in that journal, you can place an interlibrary loan. The Library can usually email it to you within a few days.

 

A couple of journal titles that may be of particular interest:

Struggling to read that scholarly article?

Peer-reviewed articles are written by scholars and researchers, to be read by other scholars and researchers in the field.

If you aren't used to reading these kinds of articles, sometimes the language and experiment details can be difficult to read.

This video will give you some tips, so you don't waste time trying to read through a difficult article, wasting time on information not useful for your assignment.

Not finding what you need?   

From our Ask Us page you can:

  • Email a Librarian
  • Text a Librarian
  • Chat with a Librarian
  • Book a Virtual Appointment with a Librarian
  • Phone the Library

Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.

Go to the Ask Us page