Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Care Assistant

The Health Care Assistant provides person-centered care to adults and people with disabilities who have individual, diverse and often complex, health care needs. The Library supports learning in the certificate program.

Finding Background Information on your Topic

When doing academic research, you need to be cautious about using popular websites like Wikipedia.

If you are looking for good background or overview information for your topic, an academic encyclopedia or dictionary is a good place to start.

Scholarly encyclopedic & dictionary write ups can be found in our Credo database. The search box for the database is below.

Need help? Check out the how-to search Credo video for Faculty of Health students on the next tab.

Credo Logo


Finding Books in the Library Catalogue

You can find books searching in our Library Catalogue.

There is a link to the catalogue on the library homepage, but you can also use the search widget below.

Need help? See the video on the next tab of this box.

You'll also find some catalogue subject searches of interest linked below.

Search the catalog:

This five minute video by our Business Librarian will give you a good overview of how to search the catalogue.

Health Care Assistant subject searches in the library catalogue

How to cite Books using the APA citation style

  • Personal authors and editors: Use only initials of given names
  • Title: Italicize the title, capitalize the first letter of the title, subtitle and of proper nouns
  • Publisher: Use spelling and capitalization as shown, but omit terms such as Co., Inc., LLC. List all publishers mentioned on the copyright page, separated by semicolons. If the author and the publisher are the same, omit the publisher info altogether (as in the WHO example).
  • Always include the DOI if available (print AND online books); if there is no DOI, include the URL for books from an open website, but treat a  book from a database that has no DOI like a print book. Generally, do NOT include the database name; for exceptions, see 9.30 of the manual. 
  • ABOUT THE DOI: the current preferred format for ALL DOI hyperlinks uses https://doi.org/ as the prefix. Older works may use previous formats (e.g., “http:/dx.doi.org/” or “doi:” or “DOI:” before the DOI number). Standardize all your DOI hyperlinks into the current preferred format in your reference list.

Author last name,  A. A. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. Publisher if different from author.

Dawson, M. (2018). Selling out or buying in?: Debating consumerism in Vancouver and Victoria 1945-1985. University of Toronto Press.
Coates, C. M., & Wynn, G. (Eds.). (2019). The nature of Canada. On Point Publishing.

World Health Organization. (2010). Traditional herbal remedies for primary health care.  

 

In text citation: ... (Dawson, 2018) ... (Coates & Wynn, 2019) ... (World Health Organization [WHO], 2010) the first time; then abbreviate to (WHO, 2010)

            Note: if quoting also include a page number or other locator

 

Author last name,  A. A. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. Publisher if different from author. https://doi.org/xxxx OR https://xxxxx

FayJay (2010). The student prince. Archive of Our Own. https://archiveofourown.org/works/91885?view_full_work=true
 
Rademacher, A. (2017). Building green: Environmental architects and the struggle for sustainability in Mumbai. University of California Press. https://doi.org/10.1525/luminos.42 
 

In text citation: ... (FayJay, 2010) ... (Rademacher, 2017)

            Note: if quoting also include a page number or other locator

  • To a basic book citation in print or online, add the CHAPTER author and title (in regular script), the word "In", the names of the editor(s) and (Ed.) or (Eds.) and page numbers in parentheses. Name(s) of editor(s) are NOT reversed

 

Burney, D. (2010). Canada in Obama’s world. In F. O. Hampson, & P. Heinbecker (Eds.)Canada among nations 2009-2010: As others see us (pp. 46-53). McGill-Queen’s University Press. 

Gray, J. S., Isaacs, D. S., & Wheeler, M. J. (2019). Culture, resilience and indigenist feminism to help Native American girls thrive. In T. Bryant-Davies (Ed.)Multicultural feminist therapy: Helping adolescent girls of color to thrive.(pp. 43-77). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000140-000  

 

In text citation: ... (Burney, 2010) ... (Gray et al., 2019) 

Note: if quoting also include a page number or other locator

  • Publisher: for a reference work with a group author (e.g. Merriam-Webster's Dictionary), do not repeat the group author in the source element. Simply write "In" and the name of the reference work in italics. add a DOI or URL if applicable 
  • Always include the DOI if available (print AND online books); if there is no DOI, include the URL for books from an open website, but treat a book from a database that has no DOI like a print book (e.g. ebooks from the Credo Reference database). Generally, do NOT include the database name; for exceptions, see 9.30 of the manual. 
  • ABOUT THE DOI : the current preferred format for ALL DOI hyperlinks uses https://doi.org/ as the prefix. Older works may use previous formats (e.g., “http:/dx.doi.org/” or “doi:” or “DOI:” before the DOI number). Standardize all your DOI hyperlinks into the current preferred format in your reference list.
  • If there is no author, move the entry in the author position (Mountie and Vancouver Canucks exampes)
  • If there is no date, use (n.d.) 
  • Include a retrieval date only if the content is likely to change; for Wikipedia entries use the link to the archived version (under the History tab in your Wikipedia page)

Bercuson, D. J. (2007). Canada. In The World Book encyclopedia (Vol. 3). World Book. 

Mountie. (2004). In K. Barber (Ed.), Canadian Oxford dictionary (2nd ed.). Oxford University Press. 

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Mnemonics. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary (11th ed.). Retrieved December 3, 2019 from  http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mnemonics  

Vancouver Canucks. (2019, December 1). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Vancouver_Canucks&oldid=928807469 

 

In text citation: ... (Bercuson, 2007) ... ("Mountie," 2004) ... (Merriam-Webster, n.d.) ... ("Vancouver Canucks," 2019)

Note: if quoting also include a page number or other locator

  • If there is no author, move the title into the author  position
  • If there is no date, use (n.d.)

The Good Housekeeping illustrated book of child care: From newborn to preteen. (1995). Hearst.

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Mnemonics. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary (11th ed.). Retrieved December 3, 2019 from  http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mnemonics  

Vancouver Canucks. (2019, December 1). In Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Vancouver_Canucks&oldid=928807469  

 

In text citation: ...  (Merriam-Webster, n.d.) ... ("Vancouver Canucks," 2019)

Note: if quoting also include a page number or other locator

  • add the edition information in parentheses after the title
  • If a volume does not have its own title, add the volume number in parentheses after the title (see the Fiske example below)
  • If a volume has its own title, add it as a subtitle (see the Toner example below)

Castro, E. (2010). Publishing a blog with Blogger (2nd ed.). Peachpit.  

Fiske, S. T., Gilbert, D. T., & Lindzey, G. (2010). Handbook of social psychology (5th ed., Vol. 1). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9780470561119 

Toner, J. P. (Ed.). (2019). A cultural history of the senses: Vol. 1. A cultural history of the senses in antiquity. Bloomsbury Academic.  

 

In text citation: ... (Castro, 2010) ... (Fiske et al., 2010) ... (Toner, 2019)

Note: if quoting also include a page number or other locator

Get Research Help From A Librarian

Go to our Ask a Librarian page to

  • Email a Librarian
  • Text a Librarian
  • Chat with a Librarian

Librarians are monitoring the queues above throughout the day and will respond to you as soon as possible.