Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Foundations

Wellness, personal care, communication and health research

Best Bet: KPU Library's APA Citation Style Guide

This guide includes examples, explanations, videos and exercises as well as links to checklists and templates.

Use the tabs along the top of the guide to maneuver to different pages of information.

Go to KPU Library's APA Citation Style Guide

This is a pdf of the Library's popular APA handout available in print at the Library.

This handout simply provides a very brief overview of the APA citation format with examples of most common types of items cited by students.

Go to the Library's APA Quickguide

This website is published and maintained by the creators of the APA citation style. There are great topic pages, handouts, videos and tutorials & a blog with answers to commonly asked questions. 

Go to the APA Style website

Top Picks from this website:

Citing an entry from the DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)

The example below is a citation for the Anxiety Disorders section of the DSM

This example is copied directly from this page of the APA Style website. Go to that page if you need to see examples of how to cite the entire DSM (not a particular section) or one of the print book versions of the DSM.

 

Citing a psychological test, survey or measure

The example below in red text is a hypothetical test taken from the PsycTests database.

You can find more details in section 10.11 Tests, Scales and Inventories in the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.

 

Citing drug information from the RxTx database

Because RxTx is both a database and a reference work, there are two ways you can choose to cite articles retrieved from RxTx using the APA citation style. We recommend citing the information as an article from a database; this approach is more straight forward and would cover any content from the database - not just drug monographs.

Reference Format: Author. (year, Month date). Title of the entry. Database Name. Retrieved Month date, year from URL of the database homepage

Reference Example: Canadian Pharmacists Association. (2018, September 18). Viagra. RxTx database. Retrieved May 14, 2020 from https://www.myrxtx.ca

In Text Citation Example: (Canadian Pharmacists Association, 2018)

 

Citing a Statistics Canada document

The examples above are copied directly from the How to Cite Statistics Canada Products page of the Stats Can website. Consult the Tables & Figures page of the Library's APA guide for additional information about how to format those kinds of items in your paper.

Not finding what you need?   

From our Ask Us page you can:

  • Email a Librarian
  • Text a Librarian
  • Chat with a Librarian
  • Book a Virtual Appointment with a Librarian
  • Phone the Library

Library employees are monitoring the queues above and will respond to you as soon as possible.

Go to the Ask Us page