Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry

Best Bets

Below are the research databases we recommend for starting your article search. You can use these to locate articles in scholarly journals as well as trade publications.

Remember: It's good research strategy to do your searches in MORE THAN ONE database.

To browse all of the databases  the Library offers you, please visit our Research database page.

Open Access Databases

Try these databases for freely available content.

Finding Scholarly Artcles

If database searching is new for you, learn the benefits of using them in your research, with this short video from Yavapai Community College Library.

Don't know if KPU has a particular journal or magazine? Use the Journal by Title search to find out if the Library subscribes.

 

Once you've searched the Library's databases, check Google Scholar for more articles and reports. Use the "Where Can I Get This?" link to take you to articles available through KPU's subscriptions.

Using Google Scholar off campus? Go to "settings", then look for "library links". Add Kwantlen Polytechnic University Library, and your search results will include links to items available through the Library's collection.

 

Google Scholar Search

You've been asked to only use scholarly sources in your assignment, but how do you really know what you're looking at?

Check out KPU Library's guide on how to distinguish different kinds of publications.

Reading and Understanding Scientific Articles

This is a self-paced exercise that walks you through the process of reading and analyzing a scientific article, from UCL Library:

CREATES