Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Horticulture

Resources for your research in horticutlure

Library News for Instructors: Spring 2021

NEW! Connect with Librarians, Virtually

You and your students can contact your liaison librarian and get remote one-on-one help. 

Did you know we have subject specialists for your area of study? Your liaison librarian is an expert on the research resources in your area and can help you or your students navigate them. Librarians are available through various remote contact options: phone, email and one-on-one virtual appointments. Visit Contact Your Librarian; you can encourage your students to do so as well!

Don't know which librarian to contact? Just email the library using the form on Ask Us, and we'll direct it to the right librarian for you and be in touch. 


Indigenous Information Literacy Videos

Indigenous Information Literacy Playlist screencaptureYou and your students can learn how to use or share Indigenous information in research with these videos

Created by our Indigenous & Anthropology Subject Liaison Librarian, Rachel Chong, Indigenous Information Literacy is a series of videos that was created to support research with an Indigenous lens. The videos cover topics such as respectful research practices, how to cite Elders & Knowledge Keepers, and how to evaluate Indigenous sources.

The videos are for Indigenous and non-Indigenous instructors alike, their classrooms, and for students who undertake research using Indigenous sources or in Indigenous communities.   To view the videos and find a link to a playlist (which you can embed in your Moodle course), visit the Indigenous Information Literacy section of our Indigenous Studies Subject Guide.

Questions? Contact Rachel ChongIndigenous & Anthropology Subject Liaison Librarian 


KPU Library Strategic Plan 2021-2023

After a process that involved brainstorming, consultation, feedback and revision, KPU Library is pleased to announce the final version of KPU Library Strategic Plan 2021-2023. 

Our strategic plan has been evolving for over a year and we are excited with the direction it will take the library and how it aligns with KPU's Vision 2023 and Academic Plan 2023.

Thank you to all who provided feedback towards this final version of the plan; we value your thoughts and paid close consideration to every comment.  Your contributions have made this plan richer and more meaningful. 

Visit About the Library to view the final plan. 

Help your students learn how to research

Assign all - or parts - of our interactive information literacy tutorial

The Library's Doing Research: A Student's Guide to Finding and Using the Best Sources has four modules: 

  1. Get Started on your Research 
  2. Recognize Types of Information
  3. Develop your Research Strategy
  4. Evaluate your Sources

Every module should take approximately 20 minutes to complete and consists of written text, video, interactive H5P activities and a short quiz (linked through your Moodle site) that will be graded.

These modules roughly follow the research process, so you can assign one or more of them to your students depending on the class/assignment requirements at any particular point in the course. We have instructions for embedding the modules, or component parts, into Moodle. 

This tutorial is a great alternative to our in-person library research sessions, which are not available during COVID. Need other options? Contact Your Librarian.


Academic Integrity helps teach your students about plagiarism

‚ÄčAcademic Integrity is an open resource from the library that can be easily integrated into your instruction and accessed online anytime. The content is designed to help students understand the importance of adhering to academic integrity principles and raise their awareness around plagiarism, citation, quoting and paraphrasing, and KPU assistance in these areas.

Incorporate this resource into your own lessons to ensure your students read and understand these important concepts. You can link directly to sections of this resource. It is a great opportunity for discussion and reflection work!

You may choose to ask your students to earn an academic integrity awareness badge. To get a badge, students will need to have read and interact with the first four parts of Academic Integrity and then answer the corresponding quizzes in the Academic Integrity Moodle Course. Once earned, the badge will appear on their Moodle profile.

There are also three optional, ungraded modules in Academic Integrity that introduce the main citations styles used at KPU: APA, MLA and Chicago. You can assign the modules individually, depending on what style you use in your course, as a course reading or task. These modules are not connected to the badge.

Visit our Academic Integrity Moodle Course page to access this open resource and for the link for students to enroll to earn their badge.

Questions? Contact Ulrike Kestler, LANC, EDST & Academic Integrity Liaison Librarian. 


Librarians can also still help teach your students information skills remotely 


Incorporate library resources in your online teaching.

Don't know where to start? Check out our guide for instructors, Library Resources for Remote Delivery

In this guide, you will find information on seamlessly incorporating library resources--such as video or tutorials--into your Moodle course site. 

Library Service Updates

In case you missed it: 

  • The library recently resumed Interlibrary Loan Service to include books, which means that you will now be able to request articles, books and thesis from other institutions.
  • You're now able to request print journals to be placed on hold, in addition to our already available general collection, DVDs, and Langley music collection. 

Link.Scan.Open instead of Course Reserves 

With Link.Scan.Open., you can provide easy access to course readings from the library's collection to your students.

As long as it is within Fair Dealing, we can scan PDFs and provide direct or embedding links from items within the library's collection;  we can even help you find Open Resources for your courses. 

Link.Scan.Open. is designed to help alleviate the absence of our Course Reserve process, which provided short-term loans of designated course material from our collections at our Service Desks. This service is actually superior to Course Reserves, as there is no longer limited copies to share among your students! 


We welcome students' research & citation questions

In this new reality of remote instruction delivery, your students still need access to research and citation style help.

Many students prefer chatting with a librarian through AskAway as they can access help at point-of-need: during their researching or while writing/citing assignments online.

If your students need research or citation help, you can refer them to the Library's Ask Us  page (where they can choose to chat, email or text us).

Or you can embed our AskAway chat widget right into your Moodle site.


Be Open to the Possibilities

OPUS can help with your online teaching as well as your scholarly publishing

The Library's Open Publishing Suite of services can help you:

  • Create and adapt accessible open textbooks
  • Create an eJournal where students can submit papers/assignments while participating in the Peer Review process online
  • Search & discover the best OER for your teaching needs

Learn more at Library Support for Open Education.

Library Collection Updates

In case you missed it: 

  • We've added over 22,000 ebooks with Wiley Online Library. The titles are integrated into our library catalogue so if there are applicable titles in the collection, they will show up when you search. You can also view all the titles from this collection using the 'Series' field and search Wiley EBA Collection.
  • We now have access to Taylor & Francis eBooks during COVID, with over 120,000 titles in the sciences, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social sciences.
  • The recently added CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics has resources that cover chemistry, math and physics. 

 

A Note on eBooks as Textbooks

Looking for an ebook to use as a textbook? While we try our hardest to provide online access to e-textbooks, there are some barriers that academic libraries face, often from publishers, when trying to provide access to certain texts online. Even if we already have it in our collection, there may be restrictions regarding the number of simultaneous users or the amount of downloads, for example. Please contact Jen Adams, Acquisitions & Collections Assessment Librarian, if you have a question about an ebook you’d like to assign to your course.