Skip to main content

Horticulture

Resources for your research in horticutlure

Best Bets

Below are the research databases we recommend for starting your article search. You can use these to locate articles in scholarly journals as well as trade publications.

Remember: It's good research strategy to do your searches in MORE THAN ONE database.

To browse the more than 100 databases  the Library offers you, please visit our Research database page.

Free/Open Access Databases

 Try these free, open access databases for articles, research, and government reports.

Finding scholarly articles

If database searching is new for you, learn the benefits of using them in your research, with this short video from Yavapai Community College Library.

Don't know if KPU has a particular journal or magazine? Use the Journal by Title search to find out if the Library subscribes.

 

Once you've searched the Library's databases, check Google Scholar for more articles and reports. Use the "Where Can I Get This?" link to take you to articles available through KPU's subscriptions.

Using Google Scholar off campus? Go to "settings", then look for "library links". Add Kwantlen Polytechnic University Library, and your search results will include links to items available through the Library's collection.

 

You've been asked to only use scholarly sources in your assignment, but how do you really know what you're looking at?

Check out KPU Library's guide on how to distinguish different kinds of publications.

Loading ...

HORT 2333: What kind of article do you need?

You will need to find at least one article from a peer-reviewed, scientific journal reporting on primary research.

If you are not sure what this kind of literature is, take a look a the "Scholarly vs. Popular vs. Trade Publications" on the tab above.

Below are three different articles on the subject of topdressing turfgrass with compost. Review each one, and pick which article would be considered the most scholalry.

Which article below would be considered an example of primary research?
Choose Compost Carefully when Topdressing the Lawn: 0 votes (0%)
Using Composts to Improve Turf Performance: 0 votes (0%)
Composted Biosolids Improves Turfgrass Establishment: 1 votes (100%)
Total Votes: 1