Use this guide as a starting point for researching your assignment topic. It includes access to the Library's SUMMON search which is an excellent source for locating books, ebooks, and journal articles. The Books to get you started section provides access to the library's book catalogue, and highlights some titles in our collection that you might find helpful. The Find Journal, Magazine & Newspaper Articles provides a select list of databases to use for locating articles or images. Remember, you will need to format your assignment and citations following APA Style so please refer to the Cite Your Sources section. And finally, if you need further help, please refer to the Need a Librarian's help? section at then end of the guide.
Try our Summon Search and find resources across our entire library collection - books, journal articles and more!
Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for. Or try the following sample subject headings or click on the book jackets below:
Art Nouveau by 
Louis Comfort Tiffany at Tiffany and Co. by 
Alphonse Mucha by 
Antoni Gaudí by Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for. Or try the following sample subject headings or click on the book jackets below:
Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for. Or try entering the following subject headings (or simply click on the link):
Cubism
Pablo Picasso by 
Picasso and Braque by Search the Library Catalogue for books and films by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for. Or try entering the following subject headings (or simply click on the link):
Generation Dada by Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for. Or try entering the following subject headings (or simply click on the link):
Chanel by 
Frank Lloyd Wright : graphic artist by 
The Frank Lloyd Wright Companion by Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for. Or try entering the following subject headings (or simply click on the link):
The World Goes Pop
Roy Lichtenstein by 
Andy Warhol ''Giant'' Size by Search the Library Catalogue for books by entering keywords that describe what you are looking for. Or try the following sample subject headings or click on the book jackets below:
Issey Miyake by 
Seven Stones : a portrait of Arthur Erickson, architect by Our Research database page offers you access to over 100 databases.
Start with the following:
The database only gives me a citation, or just an abstract. How do I find the full text?
The Where Can I Get This link lets you know if the full-text of the article is available:
Make sure to look for the Where Can I Get This on the database page!
Find out more about Interlibrary Loans!
You can access our research databases from home if you are a Kwantlen student or employee.
When conducting research it is important to distinguish between journal articles and magazine articles. Journal articles are typically referred to as "scholarly" or "refereed" while magazine articles are usually considered "popular" or "sensational". Always know which type is acceptable for your research.
|
|
Refereed or Scholarly Journal |
Trade Publication |
Popular Magazine |
|
Format |
Has serious format |
Attractive in appearance |
Generally glossy & attractive format |
|
Graphics |
Graphs and charts to illustrate concepts |
Photos, graphics and illustrations used to enhance articles |
Photos, illustrations and drawing to enhance image of publication |
|
Sources |
Cited sources with footnotes and/or bibliography |
Occasionally cite sources, but not as a rule |
Rarely cite sources. Original sources may be obscure |
|
Authors |
Written by scholars or researchers in the field or discipline |
Written by professionals or experts in the field |
Written by the staff or free-lance writers for a broad audience |
|
Language |
Uses terminology, jargon, and the language of the discipline. Reader is assumed to have similar background |
Uses language appropriate for an educated readership |
Uses simple language for minimal educational level. Articles are short, with little depth |
|
Purpose |
To inform, report, or make original research available to the scholarly world |
Report on trends in specific industry, business or organization; give practical advice |
Designed to entertain or persuade, to sell products or services |
|
Publishers |
Generally published by a professional organization |
Published by commercial enterprises for profit |
Published for profit |
|
Advertising |
Contains selective advertising |
Carries advertising, mostly trade related |
Contains extensive advertising |
When writing a research paper, you must always cite any sources that you have consulted. You must acknowledge when you are using the ideas, information, arguments, phrases or any other intellectual or creative output by another person. Not to do so is referred to as plagiarism. Plagiarism is a serious offense that carries with it severe academic consequences, but that can largely be avoided by always citing your resources.
We cite:
Common examples of plagiarism:
Find out more about Plagiarism
