Geography and the Environment

Common style guides used in geography include:  APA and Chicago

Click here to access the KPU Library Citation Guide which provides excellent examples of both

The following provide helpful information on how to write an annotated bibliography:

• How to Write an Annotated Bibliography<http://wiki.ubc.ca/Library:How_to_Write_an_Annotated_Bibliography - UBC Library

• "Write an annotated bibliography<http://guides.library.ucsc.edu/write-an-annotated-bibliography>" (describes difference between this and an abstract) from UC Santa Cruz

•  How to write an annotated bibliography<http://www.writing.utoronto.ca/advice/specific-types-of-writing/annotated-bibliography>" (gives a handy list of verbs to use)  from the University of Toronto

Find out what it is and simple ways to avoid it!

Common examples of plagiarism:

• Copying sentences, paragraphs, data or visuals without properly citing their source
• Quoting material without proper use of quotation marks (even if otherwise cited appropriately)
• Paraphrasing or summarizing information from a source without proper acknowledgement;
• Paying someone for writing the assignment
• Listing a source in the bibliography/reference list that was not cited in the assignment

How do I avoid plagiarism?

Remember: You MUST provide an in-text citation and an entry in the Works Cited or list of References for ALL of the examples of quoting paraphrasing, or summarizing from other sources.

Click on the link below to access the Library Guide on Academic Honesty and Plagarism

http://libguides.kpu.ca/friendly.php?s=academicintegrity