A basic introduction to topographic maps from Natural Resources Canada.
Ontario Historical Topographic Maps Digitization Project
Ontario’s university libraries are releasing a collection of over 1000 historical topographic maps of Ontario. The project highlights Ontario’s rich history and changing landscape over the past 100 years. Historians, genealogists, map enthusiasts alike, will enjoy this amazing digital collection.
Type a location into the search box and find maps of the past. For example, entering Abu Dhabi returns dozens of maps dating back to the 18th century, including a beautiful Map of Persia compiled by the British War Office in 1891.
Maps That Changed Our World www.loc.gov/ghe/cascade/index.html?appid=ddf9824ff56b4fb6a0f3e11515716738&loclr=blogmap
|
A selection of maps, chosen from the Library of Congress collection that illustrate specific points when there was a "distinct shift in how the world was perceived and which ultimately lead to how we see the world today". |
Use the new version of iMapBC to view thousands of map datasets in an interactive mapping environment: to put together map layers of interest; to upload your own map data; and to produce maps that can be printed or emailed to others.
Outline Maps These maps can be printed or copied for personal or classroom use.
Library of Congress: Cities and Towns
The Library of Congress's Cities and Towns collection features over 3,000 digitized maps of cities and towns. While the majority of these maps portray U.S. cities, the collection also includes maps of cities in China, Brazil, Canada, and a handful of other countries. The collection includes real estate maps, atlases, and much more. Among the many treasures in this collection are: a colorful 1589 map of St. Augustine, Florida created by Baptista Boazio; a plan for the city of New Orleans, drafted up by Jacques Nicolas Bellin in 1764; and an 1896 atlas of New York from the Metropolitan Street Railway Company. [MMB]
Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States
The Digital Scholarship Lab (DSL) of the University of Richmond has recently created a digital version of a wonderful historical atlas: Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright's 1932 Atlas of Historical Geography of the United States. Reproducing nearly 700 maps, this digitization project has enhanced the original collection and added the dramatic functionality of 21st century technology, including an amazing zoom feature.
Persuasive cartography is defined as "maps intended primarily to reinforce opinions or beliefs - to send or reinforce messages - rather than to communicate objective geographic information." Site includes over 800 maps, and shows how maps have been used throughout history for a variety of political, cultural, and satirical purposes.
Statistics Canada and OpenStreetMap initiative to crowdsource information on buildings in Canada:
Click here for the link to the Mapping tab on the Statistics guide. Find great tools and links.