Skip to main content

APA Citation Style_OLD: Books

Books

For a quick overview of book citations, you may want to watch these two short videos. The content was created by Crystal Rose, Public Services Librarian, Memorial University Libraries, in partnership with the university's department of Distance Education, Learning & Teaching Support. It is published under a Creative Commons Attribution license. The content was not altered.

Author last name, A. A. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. Location: Publisher.

Editor last name, A. A. (Ed.). (year). Title of work: Subtitle. Location: Publisher.

Organization name. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. Location: Publisher.

 

Creese, G. L. (2011). The new African diaspora in Vancouver: Migration, exclusion, and belonging. Toronto, Canada: University of Toronto Press.

McMahan, D. L. (Ed.). (2012). Buddhism in the modern world. New York, NY: Routledge.

Benhabib, S., & Resnik, J. (Eds.). (2009). Migrations and mobilities: Citizenship, borders, and gender. New York, NY: New York University Press.

Canadian Institute for Health Information. (2009). Improving the health of Canadians: Exploring positive mental health. Ottawa, Canada: Author.

  • Personal authors and editors: Use only initials of given names
  • Title: Italicize the title, capitalize the first letter of the title, subtitle and of proper nouns
  • Location: Give the city and state abbreviations for US publishing locations, but city and country otherwise (Note: some Canadian libraries opt to use provincial abbreviations instead of "Canada" for Canadian publications)
  • Publisher: Omit terms such as Publishers, Co., and Inc., but retain the words Books and Press. If the author and the publisher are the same, use the word Author as the name of the publisher (as in example four)
  • In text citation. For more information, see the in-text citations tab
    • ... (Creese, 2011)
    • ... (McMahan, 2012)
    • ... (Benhabib & Resnik, 2009)
    • ... (Canadian Institute for Health Information [CIHI], 2009) for the first citation; then abbreviate to (CIHI, 2009)
  • when quoting, also include page numbers, e.g.
    • "..." (Creese, 2011, p. 58)

Author last name, A. A. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. doi:xxx OR Retrieved from http://www.xxx

Editor last name, A. A. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. doi:xxx OR Retrieved from http://www.xxx

Organization name. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. doi:xxx OR Retrieved from http://www.xxx

 

Gettman, D. (n.d.). The twinkle theory. Retrieved from http://www.onlineoriginals.com/showitem.asp?itemID=244

Zenger, J. H. (Ed.). (2010). The complete new manager: Essential tips and techniques for managers. Retrieved from http://www.books24x7.com

Information Systems Audit and Control Association. (2011). IT control objectives for cloud computing: Controls and assurance in the cloud.  Retrieved from http://www.books24x7.com

Tellis, G. J., & Ambler, T. (Eds.). (2009). The Sage handbook of advertising. doi: 10.4135/9781848607897

  • Example one is an electronic-only book available via the web
  • Examples two and three are ebooks available from a Kwantlen database with no DOI
  • Example four is an electronic book with a DOI, so the DOI number is used instead of a retrieval statement. What is a DOI?  The DOI may be available as just a number or prefixed as follows. All three ways of writing the DOI are acceptable, but choose one consistently for you paper:
  • In text citation. For more information, see the in-text citations tab
    • ...(Gettman, n.d.)
    • ... (Zenger, 2010)
    • ... (Tellis & Ambler, 2009)
    • ...(Information Systems Audit and Control Association [ISACA], 201) for the first citation; then abbreviate to (ISACA, 2011)
  • when quoting, also include page number or other locator, e.g.
    • "..." (Gettman, n.d., "Nature's Reasons", para. 3)

 

Burney, D. (2010). Canada in Obama’s world. In F. O. Hampson, & P. Heinbecker (Eds.)Canada among nations 2009-2010: As others see us (pp. 46-53). Montreal, Canada: McGill-Queen’s University Press. 

Henry, N., & Pinch, S. (2006). Knowledge and clusters. In C. Pitelis, R. Sugden, & J. R. Wilson (Eds.)Clusters and globalisation: The development of urban and regional economies (pp. 114-132). Retrieved from http://netlibrary.com

Keller, K. L. (2009). Advertising and brand equity. In G. J. Tellis, & T. Ambler (Eds.), The Sage handbook of advertising (pp. 54-71). doi:10.4135/9781848607897

 

  • To a basic book citation in print or online, add the CHAPTER author and title (in regular script), the word "In", and page numbers in parentheses. Name(s) of editor(s) are NOT reversed (APA Manual 7.02.25)
  • In text citation examples (for more information, see the in-text citations tab): 
    • ...(Burney, 2010) … (Henry & Pinch, 2006) … (Keller, 2009)
  • when quoting, also include page numbers (or other locator if no page number), e.g.
    • "..." (Burney, 2010, p. 50)

 

Bercuson, D. J. (2007). Canada. In The World Book encyclopedia  (Vol. 3, pp. 98-127). Chicago, IL: World Book.

Mountie. (2004). In K. Barber (Ed.), Canadian Oxford dictionary (2nd ed., p. 1013). Don Mills, Canada: Oxford University Press.

Modood, T. (2012). Multiculturalism. In J. Krieger (Ed.), The Oxford companion to the politics of the world (2nd ed.). Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com

Mnemonics (n. d.). In Merriam-Webster's online dictionary (11th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/mnemonics

 

 

  • To a basic book citation in print or online, add the author and title of the ENTRY (in regular script) and the word "In".  Name(s) of editor(s) are NOT reversed (APA Manual 7.02.25)
  • Place information about edition, volume, page numbers in parentheses after the book title
  • if there is no author, move the title of the entry to the author position (as in examples two and four)
  • In text citation examples (for more information, see the in-text citations tab): 
    • ...(Bercuson, 2007) … (Modood, 2012) …
    • no author: ... ("Mountie", 2004)
    • no author, no date: ... ("Mnemonics", n.d.)
  • when quoting, also include page numbers (or other locator if no page number), e.g.
    • "..." (Bercuson, 2007, p. 99)

       How to reference the DSM

Print:

Organization name. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. Location: Publisher.

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). Washington, DC: Author.

 

Online:

Organization name. (year). Title of work: Subtitle. doi:xxx

American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). doi:10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

 

  • Title: Italicize the title, capitalize the first letter of the title, subtitle and of proper nouns
  • Location: Give the city and US state abbreviation
  • Publisher: If the author and the publisher are the same, use the word Author as the name of the publisher (as in this case)
  • If you use the online version, omit location and publisher and instead use the DOI. Shorten the DOI like this: http://dsm.psychiatryonline.org/doi/book/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596

 

  • In text citation:
    • write the name of the association and the name of the manual IN FULL the first time you cite; after that you can abbreviate to DSM-5 (2013)
    • after you spelled out the name in full the first time and you want to use parenthesis, format them like this:  (5th ed.; DSM–V; American Psychiatric Association, 2013)
  • when quoting directly, also include page numbers
Webster's third new international dictionary, unabridged. (2004). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster.
Merriam-Webster's online dictionary. (n.d.).Retrieved from http://www.merriam-webster.com
  • move the title to the author position, then complete the citation as usual
  • In text citation: use the title instead of the author; shorten it if it is long, e.g.
    • ... (Webster's, 2004)
    • ... (Merriam-Webster's, n.d.)
  • when quoting, also include page number (or other locator if there is no page number), e.g.
    • "..." (Webster's, 2004, p. 98)

Castro, E. (2010). Publishing a blog with Blogger (2nd ed.). Berkeley, CA: Peachpit.

Monks, R. A. G., & Minow, N. (2011). Corporate governance (5th ed.). Retrieved from http://www.books24x7.com

Bonhomme, B., & Boivin, C. (Eds.). (2010). Milestone documents in world history: Exploring the primary sources that shaped the world (Vols. 1-4). Dallas, TX: Schlager

  • Add the editon, volume or translator information in normal script after the title without any punctuation in between
  • Use standard abbreviations: Rev. ed. (revised edition), 2nd ed, 3rd ed, 4th ed..., Vol. and Vols.
  • In text citation examples (for more information, see the in-text citations tab): 
    • ...(Castro, 2010)
    • ...(Bonhomme & Boivin, 2010)
  • when quoting, also include page number or other locator, e.g.
    • "..." (Castro, 2010, p. 43)
    • "..." (Monks & Minnow, 2011, Chapter 3, "Information Flow," para. 1)