Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

KPU Library COVID-19 Response

General Information

Our collections are closed for in-person browsing, but KPU students and employees can still order material online for pick-up. Please adhere to KPU's COVID-19 policies, such as mask wearing and physical distancing, while in our spaces. 

The library’s collections cannot be accessed in-person, but much of the library’s collection is available to be placed ‘On Hold’ and you pick up the material by appointment when your order is ready. You need your KPU Card to pick up your order. 

Collections currently available for holds: General, periodicals, video, and Langley music CD collections.

Collection items currently unavailable for holds: Items associated with course reserves.

Collection items loaned during spring semester are due back by April 23, 2021.

Items loaned during the fall semester had a due date of December 17, 2020.

Equipment lending is currently suspended. Student Laptops are currently the only equipment available to be requested through the library. Visit Borrowing Equipment for full details.

Borrowing from the library's collections

How to borrow library materials:

  1. Search the catalogue and find the item you want.
  2. Select orange ‘Place Hold’ button.
  3. Log in to your KPUOne account if you are not already logged in. You may need to select ‘Place Hold’ button again.
  4. Choose what campus location you want to pick up at.
  5. Select ‘Place Hold.’
  6. You will receive an email to your KPU email account when your item has been processed. You must make an appointment to pick up your material. Use the instructions in this email, selecting a date and time.
  7. Pick up your order at your appointment time using your KPU Card. Apply here if you don't have one. Bring your phone and call the number posted at the Service Desk for assistance.

How to return library materials

To return material from the library’s collections, please use our book return bins outside our libraries. If there is no line up at the Service Desk (and enough room to social distance), you may also use our book return slot at our Service Desk. 

Returned material is quarantined before staff handle the items. Your items may still show on your account while in quarantine. They will be backdated and recorded as returned the date you dropped them off.

All library material borrowed during spring semester have a due date of April 23, 2021. 

Further Borrowing Information

Borrowing Tips:

Miss browsing books on a shelf? You can do it virtually, follow instructions on Collection Priorities during COVID.

To borrow items you’ll need to show your KPU Card. Apply for it online and plan ahead; the process can take a few days.

If you’ve requested multiple items and only want to make one trip, wait until you receive an email notification for all your items before scheduling a pick up.

If you need an item quickly, consider selecting its home campus as the pick-up location. Inter-campus deliveries occur less frequently during COVID.  

If you need to cancel or reschedule your appointment time, there are links to do that in the email notification.

Employees, you may need to arrange for a short term visit to campus, as outlined in the July 14 KPU COVID Response Statement.

An appointment must be made to pick up requested material. We require appointments to help maintain a safe number of people in the library. 

Borrowing Frequently Asked Questions

We have answers to our most frequently asked questions below.

If you still need to contact us with any questions about borrowed or borrowing material, please fill out this quick web form and we'll get back to you.

Submit your Library Borrowing and Fines questions

Placing a hold on a borrowed item

A library item I want is currently on loan until the end of semester. Can I get it sooner?

While we cannot recall an item before its due date, an item that is currently on loan could be returned anytime before its due date. If you place a hold on an item, you will be notified if it becomes available. If you need help finding similar resources, please Ask Us and a librarian can help you find alternate sources. 

Interlibrary Loans

Can I still place interlibrary loans for material KPU Library doesn't have?

The delivery system to facilitate inter-library borrowing has been reduced. This means your requests for books or 'returnables' (physical items like print books) may take longer than it did in the past. However our full interlibrary loan service is open!

 

Library Hold & Registration or Withdrawal

Are you being prevented from registering for classes or getting your transcripts because you owe us money?

No new overdue fines are being created at this time.  However, if you have fines or bills from before March 18, you may have a hold on your record that prevents you from registering or withdrawing from classes.

If you have questions about the hold, you can submit a Library Borrowing and Fines Questions form.

To pay the bill so the hold can be removed:

Community Borrowers

I have a Community Borrower Card. Can I borrow from the library or use e-resources?

Unfortunately, we are not loaning library material to members of the public or alumni who hold a Community Borrower card at this time. We are also currently unable to provide guest station access to Community Borrowers or visitors, which means Community Borrowers do not have on-site access to our electronic resources and journals. We will update this space when that changes!  

 

Borrowing from other academic institutions

I'm a KPU student and I want to borrow books from another academic institution. Can I? 

No. Due to COVID, KPU Library is not currently issuing new cards or lending library material in-person to users other than KPU students and staff. We are also not issuing COPPUL/CPSLD cards to any user. Most other academic institutions have also suspended their borrowing to users outside of their students and employees. This means that as a KPU student, you currently cannot visit other academic libraries in person and browse and borrow material. Likewise, community and other external users cannot borrow in-person at KPU Library.  

However, KPU students and employees can request library material from other academic institutions through our Interlibrary Loan service. You can request books, articles and thesis. Visit Interlibrary Loans for full details.