Skip to main content

Copyright & You

Use of E-Resources

KPU  licenses a large number of  electronic resources including research databases, e-journals, and e-books. Access to these resources is governed by  license agreements with resource providers. The agreements specify the groups of individuals who can access the electronic resources (generally limited to employees and current students of KPU) and they  place restrictions on the uses that can be made of the resources.

What Am I Not Allowed To Do With Electronic Resources

You may not:

  1. Use any part of the electronic resource for a commercial purpose.
  2. Use software such as webcrawlers or other automated means to systematically make copies of extracts of the electronic resource for any purpose.
  3. Mount, post or distribute any part of the electronic resource on unsecured electronic networks, such as electronic bulletin boards, news groups and web sites.  Note: posting to e-reserves or to a learning management system may be allowed by the license. Check specific license permissions for further information.
  4. Obscure or alter any copyright or other notices appearing in the electronic resource
  5. Publish, distribute or make available any portion of the electronic resource except as detailed in the specific license permissions or as permitted by the Fair Dealing provisions of the Canadian Copyright Act.

 

Permitted Uses for Journals

Use of  Journals (e-journals or journals accessed through a Research Database)

To look up the permitted uses for a particular journal, search for the journal on the Journals page.  Permitted Uses will be shown beside each provider for that particular journal. Our license terms for a journal may vary depending on the provider.


Please remember that violations of our license terms by anyone can result in the loss of access to that resource for the entire university community.

If you need assistance or have questions or concerns please contact copyright@kpu.ca.

Permitted Uses for a Research Database or E-Book Collection

To discover the permitted uses of an entire research database or e-book collection, search for the title of the database through our Research Databases link.

For example:

                        search for and then click on the Science Direct link to see the conditions of use for articles found through Science Direct

                         search for and click on the Ebrary  link to see the permitted uses for one of our e-book collections

Note: if the article is not full text in the database you searched but you link out through the 'Linked Full Text' icon or through 'Where Can I Get This?' to the full text, that article is found in a different resource and is thus subject to a different license that may have different permitted uses.

For permissions related to a specific journal article, please use the Journals search instead.

 

Linking to Articles in Research Databases