English

Collections of First Nations Works

• Aboriginal Canada revisited -  78 C2 A26 2008 in Surrey. Explores a variety of topics-including health, politics, education, art, literature, media, and film- Aboriginal Canada Revisited draws a portrait of the current political and cultural position of Canada's Aboriginal peoples.
• An anthology of Canadian Native literature in English   4th ed.
• Our story : Aboriginal voices on Canada's past
• Native poetry in Canada : a contemporary anthology
• Let the drums be your heart [electronic resource] : new native voices
• All my relations : an anthology of contemporary Canadian native fiction
• Writing the circle : native women of Western Canada, an anthology
• Our bit of truth : an anthology of Canadian native writing
• Residential Schools

Background Information

Gathering places : Aboriginal and fur trade histories - available as an e-book and a print copy at E 78 C2 G378 2010 in Langley.

All that we say is ours : Guujaaw and the reawakening of the Haida Nation - e-book, and a print copy in Surrey E 99 H2 G89 2010

(Ad)dressing our words : aboriginal perspectives on aboriginal literatures - This critical anthology of essays by Aboriginal academics provides an in-depth analysis of the emerging body of literature by Aboriginal authors.

Native writers and Canadian writing : Canadian literature special issue - an e-book, and print copies in Richmond and Surrey at PR 9035 N38

Native literature in Canada : from the oral tradition to the present - PR 9035 P4 1990 copies in Surrey and Langley

When the other is me [electronic resource] : Native resistance discourse, 1850-1990

Literary Movements and criticism

• Re: reading the postmodern : Canadian literature and criticism after modernism PR 8922 P67 R4 2010
• Twentieth-century literary movements dictionary REF PN 597 T94 2000 R
• World literature and thought CB 5 W67 1997 R

Author biographies and their work

• Canadian writers since 1960 REF PR 8927 C362 S, R, L
• Contemporary Canadian authors REF PR 8953 Z925 S, R, L

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

• Dictionary of literary and thematic terms REF PN44.5 Q5 1999 S,R,L
• Dictionary of literary symbols REF PN 56 S9 F47 1999 S, R, L
• Encyclopedia of literature in Canada REF PR 8906 E53 2002 S, R, L
• Encyclopedia of folklore and literature REF PN 41 E48 1998 S, R, L
• Dictionary of literary characters REF PR 19 D53 2004 S, R, L

• Canadian Literature Guide - CanLit Guides is an open educational resource, created and maintained by Canadian Literature,
• Canadian Poetry Archive  - selected poems from English and French-Canadian poets from the 1800's to the present
• League of Canadian Poets - biographical information about Canadian poets.
• Canadian Publishers Collection - Over 60 leading Canadian publishers have partnered with CEL to distribute their catalogues of recent backlist and current titles through the Canadian Publishers Collection. With over 10,000 e-book volumes and growing monthly, this is an unmatched collection of Canadiana. 

Subject Searching in the Library Catalogue

Indians in literature - use this Subject Heading to retrieve books and DVDs on the topic

Indians of North America Canada - retrieves books and DVDs on the topic. Add another subject term (Literature) to narrow down your search to literary themes

Authors and First Nations Themes

Drew Hayden Taylor - explore books in the Library collection written by Drew, such as God and the Indian, Me Funny, Me Sexy, etc.

Richard Wagamese - check his novels and poems, such as Indian Horse, Ruanaway Dreams, One Story One Song....

Eden Robinson - award-winning author of The Sasquatch at home : traditional protocols & modern storytelling, Blood Sports, Monkey Beach, etc.

Joseph Boyden - author of Orenda, Through black spruce, Born with a tooth...

Documents

Jesuit Relations - materials held in the Library. "The Jesuit Relations, also known as Relations des Jésuites de la Nouvelle-France, are early ethnographic documents that chronicle Jesuit missions in New France. The works were written annually and appeared in print beginning in 1632" (Wikipedia).

Jesuti relations and Allied Documents 1610-1791 - This site contains the entire English translation of the The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents,  originally compiled and edited by  Reuben Gold Thwaites and published by The Burrows BrothersCompany, Cleveland, throughout the latter part of the nineteenth century.   Each file represents the total English contents of a single published volume.  The original work has facing pages in the original French, Latin or Italian, depending on the author.

First Nations Online Sources

Indigenous Studies Portal - The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) connects faculty, students, researchers and members of the community with electronic resources: books, articles, theses, documents, etc.  Topics covered include Indigenous authors, literature, oral traditions, languages, media and more.

Native North American Authors - Internet Public Library site from U.S. Bibliographies of published works, biographical information, and links to interviews, online texts and tribal websites.

Our Research database page offers you access to over 100 databases. But to start your research, we recommend: